SUNDAY POTPOURRI…

Welcome to another week of new adventures.  I found this image of one of my favorite restaurants that is now open, albeit at 25% capacity.

I hope to have lunch there with my granddaughter this week.

Today I am still trying to master Block Editor!

***

***

I’ve been linking images to another site: my author site. Check these out!

***

MONDAY POTPOURRI: TIDBITS…

Today is Blog Visiting Time.  I’ve been over at Book Date, checking out Monday Reading blog posts, followed by a few on Mailbox Monday.

One blogger wrote that WordPress has made some changes to post writing…so I simply had to come over to check it out!  So far, so good.  Or maybe the changes will hit me later.  LOL

Yesterday I got a package from Amazon with this lovely little RBG Royal Bobbles image, grouped with the mugs:

Last night I watched Oprah interviewing Meghan and Harry, and I must admit to being disappointed.  The questions and answers didn’t come smoothly, and Oprah seemed “off her game.”  What’s up with that?

Today I am enjoying some time in my apartment, sipping coffee and eating Dave’s Bread with cream cheese.  Yum!

What I really want this morning, though…a mimosa!

So…now I will continue reading my two books that I started on the weekend:

At the Edge of the Haight, by Katherine Seligman

Triple Chocolate Cheesecake Murder, by Joanne Fluke

The Fluke book is in hardcover, and I can’t wait to slide it onto my almost full bookshelf!

***

How are you spending your Monday?

***

HAPPY BOOKS… & A MUG…

Welcome to the First Tuesday in February!  I am celebrating with a cup of coffee in a Newly Returned Happy Mug.  Yes, the mugs cheer me up when I look at the little boy eating cornflakes.  I had these mugs for several years…until I moved to this apartment almost two years ago.  Yesterday, my daughter brought the four mugs back to me!

Now…onward and upward.  Today I have downloaded two new books:

Hadley and Grace, by Suzanne Redfearn

The author of In an Instant delivers a heart-pounding and emotional roller-coaster ride of self-discovery in the tradition of Thelma and Louise.

***

The Shadow Box, by Luanne Rice

The Amazon Charts bestselling author of Last Day delivers a haunting thriller about how far one wife is willing to go to expose the truth—and the lengths someone will go to stop her.

***

Later this month, I will receive a pre-ordered book in my mailbox:

Triple Chocolate Cheesecake Murder, by Joanne Fluke (#27 in the series)

Spring has sprung in Lake Eden, Minnesota, but Hannah Swensen doesn’t have time to stop and smell the rosesnot with hot cross buns to make, treats to bake, and a sister to exonerate!

***

Today I am continuing to read The Book of Two Ways, by Jodi Picoult.  A book that hasn’t yet grabbed me!

***

What books are you wrapped up in today?

***

FRIDAY POTPOURRI: OBSESSIONS…

Welcome to Friday! As I ponder the weekend, I am also keeping busy creating new potential blog headers for my sites, an obsession born of the PicMonkey changes that had me frantically trying to make use of the existing processes. As it turned out, my interactions with the support team revealed a way to continue using the old layouts. Happy now!

So I now have a store of new ones ready to go.

Meanwhile, as the year ends, I am loving the books still on my shelves that are clamoring to be read. And anticipating the rollout of my First Book of the Year. I have already sent my photo to Sheila.

I have read two books so far this week, and hope to finish the third one today.

Meanwhile, I am reading an interesting nonfiction book that I might just have to add to the Nonfiction Reading Challenge before the year is done. Dirt, by Mary Marantz.

I am also gradually growing my bookshelf, and my latest photo reveals that I might soon have to find a new place to store my books as I read them!

***

What does your weekend look like?  Is your Friday turning out to be a good one?

***

SATURDAY POTPOURRI: AUTUMN TIDBITS

We are definitely enjoying autumn colors and scents…finally.  I searched through my Bitmoji images today to find something cute to share here…and also something to use as a centerpiece for my new blog header:

Tonight we are having a special autumn menu in the dining room, in honor of Halloween.  I will grab some photos of the meal…probably.

This season has not been like the kind and gentle ones we used to enjoy over the years, so I’ve had to find images that capture the feeling.

I am also viewing old shows on Netflix that conjure feelings of nostalgia.  Like the show Private Practice helps me grab the feelings.

***

Now I plan to curl up with my current read, The Silent Wife, by Karin Slaughter, and enjoy the thrills and chills.

***

What are you doing this Halloween season?

***

HUMP DAY POTPOURRI…A GREAT START TO THE DAY

Welcome to another Hump Day!  I decided to stay in my apartment this morning, with a pot of my freshly ground coffee and the pleasure of  visiting blogs for the Wednesday Reading post.

Then I picked up the book I am currently reading:  The Undoing, by Jean Hanff Korelitz (previously entitled You Should Have Known).

This is a book I purchased in March 2014!  It stayed unread all this time, although I had tried to read it earlier.  For some reason, it did not grip me.  But then HBO came out with a miniseries, called The Undoing, starring Nicole Kidman and Hugh Grant…and I couldn’t resist watching.  So far, only the first episode has been released, but I was hooked.

Funny how that happens sometimes, but now that I am reading the book again, I can’t stop turning the pages fast enough. I am on page 111, of 439 pages, and I had barely dug into the opening of it the first time.

Is it the passing of time, or is it the teaser of the miniseries?  I guess it doesn’t matter, since I am now loving it.

***

Now I am thoroughly ready for the day…so I will finally take my shower and get dressed!  I love a day that starts off like this one.

How is your day going?

***

FRIDAY POTPOURRI: WEEKEND TIDBITS…

As I sit at my desk on a Friday morning, I am savoring my coffee made from freshly ground beans…and feeling gratitude.

I didn’t sleep well last night, so the morning coffee was especially appreciated.

While enjoying my coffee, I placed my Instacart order, which I do weekly nowadays, usually on Friday or Saturday.    I like how I can watch the progress of their shopping on my phone.   Right now, they have found everything but two items, but I am pretty sure those will end up in my shopping cart as well.

Yesterday, I rearranged a few things in my entry way.  No big deal.  I love the little “When All Else Fails, Ask Nana” tidbit, which has been hanging in various places over the years.  In this vignette, you can see photos of some grandchildren in the bottom left, which seems to spotlight some of them.  And the Mary Engelbreit “chocolate” hanging is another favorite.  The little  “Squishy House,” dubbed so by my eldest son, is on the right hand side.

Here are a few more views of the slightly rearranged entry way.

What else am I doing today?  Well, I’m loving my read of The Lost for Words Bookshop, by Stephanie Butland.

“In The Lost for Words Bookshop, Stephanie Butland has created a bibliophile’s delight. Witty and irreverent, funny and sad, this is a charming tribute to stories on the page and in our lives–and the powers they can hold over us.”—Matthew Sullivan author of Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore

***

I should be wrapping this book up by the end of the day.  Meanwhile, I may have to grind some more coffee beans for another pot of coffee!

What does your day look like?

***

SUNDAY POTPOURRI: A QUEST FOR COFFEE…

I do love these little Bitmoji images that show my thoughts and feelings so nicely.

Today I am having a lazy day, blogging, reading, and planning ahead.  I went to open a fresh bag of coffee, so I could make a nice pot of it, and guess what?  Coffee beans INSTEAD of grinds!  I order my supplies from Instacart, and sometimes the tiny images don’t show up that well.

Now what?  Well, of course I went to Amazon to order a coffee grinder, which will arrive tomorrow.  LOL.  I used to have one of those…many years ago. 

I do love the look of those fresh beans, so maybe this error will turn out to be a blessing.

What are you doing today?  Any unexpected errors…or gifts?

I am enjoying the new Susie Steiner book, in the Manon Bradshaw series:

Remain Silent, a story of how “an immigrant’s mysterious death sets off a chilling hunt for the truth in this gripping crime novel from the author of Missing, Presumed, featuring a “delightful protagonist who deserves a place alongside other beloved literary detectives” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review).”

I didn’t understand the cover image until I started reading the book.  A chill came, along with the realization of what it meant.  Now I can’t wait to see what happens next.

***

My journey through Block Editor:  Some days are better than others.  I find that posting my reviews are the most challenging, and I can’t figure out why.  But I am struggling through it.

Enjoy your week, and come on by to share your thoughts!

***

FRIDAY POTPOURRI: TIDBITS…

Today is Friday, and I am struggling with the Block Editor. Somehow, I had expected to find the Classic Editor through my back door methods…forever!

Not so, however. I am experimenting today. Meanwhile, I have set aside a book I was reading…and picked up another. Life is too short to spend time on books that aren’t capturing us.

I set aside Anxious People and picked up To Tell You the Truth, by Gilly Macmillan.

Meanwhile, I am waiting for my Instacart order. I do love that app!

How is your Friday unfolding? Interesting news items today!

***

***

TUESDAY POTPOURRI: TIDBITS…

Yesterday I did a lengthy search among my photos, reminding myself as I trudged along that organization would be a good idea! 

But finally I found this favorite snap (above) from my previous residence:  a peek into my dining room, with the Baker’s Rack on the left and the Engelbreit cookie jars on the right.  And in the middle, my pottery bowl where I tossed my odds and ends.  Tidbits.  Like the stuff I bring to this blog.

Why did I take this journey right now?  Well, I needed a new bowl for mail and stuff…and I based my search on this particular bowl and came up with this one:

Now I am in the process of training staff to put mail and other tidbits in this lovely bowl.  It should be obvious, right?  It is right there, as you enter the apartment, inviting and accepting.  It is amazing how many people still want to throw everything on the kitchen counter.  That space that is often damp, at the very least.  So my voice shouting out “not there” will still get a work-out as the learning curve develops.  Sigh.

I know that they all think I am a “crotchety old woman,” and if that works in my favor, so be it.

Now…back to our usual Tuesday goodies.  Book releases!

I downloaded one book today, and I hope to love it.

My Lies, Your Lies, by Susan Lewis

For readers of Lisa Jewell and Diane Chamberlain comes another gripping novel from internationally bestselling author Susan Lewis, about an eccentric old woman, the ghostwriter helping write her memoirs, and the destructive secrets binding them together.

***

I am now reading an acquisition from a couple of weeks ago:

The End of Her, by Shari Lapena

***

What are you reading, wishing for, or adding to your shelves?

***