REVIEW: CORNELLI, BY JOHANNA SPYRI

Many writers have suffered injustice in being known as the author of but one book. Such has been the fate of Johanna Spyri, the Swiss authoress, whose reputation is mistakenly supposed to rest on her story of Heidi. To be sure, Heidi is a book that in its field can hardly be overpraised. But the present story is possessed of a deeper treatment of character, combined with equal spirit and humor of a different kind. Cornelli, the heroine, suffers temporarily from the unjust suspicion of her elders, a misfortune which, it is to be feared, still occurs frequently in the case of sensitive children….

 

I loved reading Cornelli during my childhood and perused it many times over the years. My copy was a hardcover version given to my mother in her childhood, which she then passed on to me. I loved the colorful illustrations, which immediately refreshed my memories of the various scenes of the story.

As I read it again in its Kindle format, I brought out my print format so that I could check the illustrations once again.

The story was an emotional one for me, as the feelings aroused in childhood were elicited once again as the story unfolded:  a tale of strict caretakers and a sensitive child, a combination of events that led to the opposite outcome the adults had hoped to see.

I was pleased once again that a kind older woman helped Cornelli’s father to understand what had happened to her and assisted him in turning things around. Another family was also part of the solution.

I loved rereading my childhood favorite on my Kindle. 5 stars.

***

COMMEMORATING BOOKISH COLLECTIONS…

The photo above spotlights a very old book written by Johanna Spyri (on the left), Cornelli, that belonged to my mother. (The author also wrote Heidi, which I do not own). She received it in 1924 from her aunt.  She then gave it to me when I was very young, and I read it over and over. I even repaired the binding when I was a young adult and working in a library. 

It rested in my Baker’s Rack above, next to Engelbreit objects and books that I had written.  After I moved to my studio apartment, I brought it with me here, where it reposes in my little wooden cupboard, next to another collectible book, Elsie Dinsmore, (left) also available on Kindle.

Today I discovered both of my collectible books on Amazon in a Kindle format, so I am reading them again…on my Kindle.

I  am enjoying the re-reads already. 

***

 

 

 

 

 

TUESDAY POTPOURRI: BLISSFUL TUESDAY…

In Week Three of our Lockdown, I am feeling the familiar ups and downs…but on Tuesdays, I am always excited.  New books!

Today I downloaded one that has been out for a bit; I’ve been seeing it around, and I think it might be just the thing for these troubled times.

Separation Anxiety, by Laura Zigman

From bestselling author Laura Zigman, a hilarious novel about a wife and mother whose life is unraveling and the well-intentioned but increasingly disastrous steps she takes to course-correct her relationships, her career, and her belief in herself…

***

Currently I am still reading The Operator, by Gretchen Berg, a book that takes us back to the 1950s…gentler times?

 

What if you could listen in on any phone conversation in town? With great humor and insight, The Operator by Gretchen Berg delivers a vivid look inside the heads and hearts of a group of housewives and pokes at the absurdities of 1950s America, a simpler time that was far from simple. Think The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel in the suburbs with delicious turns of jealousy, infidelity, bigotry, and embezzlement thrown in for good measure. The Operator is irresistible!”

 — Kathryn Stockett, author of the New York Times bestselling novel The Help

***

What books are you reading?  What is on your “up next” stack?

***

TUESDAY POTPOURRI: INSPIRATION!

Welcome to another Tuesday, in which we share our bookish finds…and anything else that is keeping us going during these troublesome times.

Before I talk about the books: last night, I was inspired by watching a Margaret Atwood documentary on Hulu.  I learned more about her younger years, and also how she came to write The Handmaid’s Tale and its sequel.  Here are some images from the video (Margaret, on the left, and her agent on the right):

Margaret talking at an event:

***

As for new book releases, I found two that have been on my list:

The Sea Glass Cottage, by RaeAnne Thayne

From the New York Times bestselling author RaeAnne Thayne comes a brand-new novel for fans of Debbie Macomber and Susan Wiggs. RaeAnne Thayne tells the story of an emotional homecoming that brings hope and healing to three generations of women.

***

Follow Me, by Kathleen Barber

From the author of Truth Be Told (formerly titled Are You Sleeping)—now an Apple TV series of the same name—comes a cautionary tale of oversharing in the social media age for fans of Jessica Knoll and Caroline Kepnes’s You.

***

Today I am moving toward the conclusion of my current read:  And They Called It Camelot, which I am loving!

***

This morning I woke up early, but I have no place to go…Lockdown!  But…I like being able to blog and find new books while waiting for the breakfast tray at 7:00.

My daughter has promised to shop for supplies for me…and deliver them to the staff here.  That’s something, right?

Enjoy your day, and stay healthy and safe.

***

SATURDAY POTPOURRI: COPING…

Another example of our “New Normal,” aka The Lockdown:  the breakfast arrives in paper cartons, but because I need to grasp for some normalcy in these times, I unload the items into my own bowls and mugs/tumblers.  Once done, I can relax and feel like myself.

I am still reading The Missing Sister, by Elle Marr.  My plan is to finish it some time today.

Next I will be reading And They Called It Camelot, by Stephanie Marie Thornton.

***

I have enjoyed binge-watching shows and movies, and finished the three episodes of Little Fires Everywhere that are now available on Hulu.  I can’t wait for more episodes to come!  They left us on a cliff, hanging by a thread.

***

My day will be a pleasant one, I believe.  Using my isolation for good and trying to keep the anxiety at bay.

How are the rest of you doing?

***

TUESDAY POTPOURRI: BOOKS & MORE BOOKS…

I wake up feeling bright eyed and bushy tailed on Tuesday mornings.  Why?  Well, book releases, of course.  Plus I like the Tuesday meme that I call Tuesday Excerpts.

Today I downloaded a new Melinda Leigh book, Cross Her Heart.  I love her books, but I’m way behind.  This newest one is Book 1 in a new series, (Bree Taggert), so I think this will be a good place to resume reading.

For more than twenty-five years, Philadelphia homicide detective Bree Taggert has tucked away the nightmarish childhood memories of her parents’ murder-suicide…Until her younger sister, Erin, is killed in a crime that echoes that tragic night: innocent witnesses and a stormy marriage that ended in gunfire. There’s just one chilling difference. Erin’s husband, Justin, has vanished.

Bree knows how explosive the line between love and hate can be, yet the evidence against her troubled brother-in-law isn’t adding up. Teaming up with Justin’s old friend, former sheriff’s investigator and K-9 handler Matt Flynn, Bree vows to uncover the secrets of her sister’s life and death, as she promised Erin’s children. But as her investigation unfolds, the danger hits close to home. Once again, Bree’s family is caught in a death grip. And this time, it could be fatal for her.

***

Today I am reading The Other Mrs., by Mary Kubica, a recent download.  I am loving it!

Propulsive and addictive, and perfect for fans of “You,” The Other Mrs. is the twisty new psychological thriller from Mary Kubica, the New York Times bestselling author of The Good Girl

***

I am also hoping to start reading another book that arrived last week:  And They Called It Camelot, by Stephanie Marie Thornton.

An intimate portrait of the life of Jackie O
 
Few of us can claim to be the authors of our fate. Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy knows no other choice. With the eyes of the world watching, Jackie uses her effortless charm and keen intelligence to carve a place for herself among the men of history and weave a fairy tale for the American people, embodying a senator’s wife, a devoted mother, a First Lady—a queen in her own right.
 
But all reigns must come to an end. Once JFK travels to Dallas and the clock ticks down those thousand days of magic in Camelot, Jackie is forced to pick up the ruined fragments of her life and forge herself into a new identity that is all her own, that of an American legend.

***

Enjoy your week and your new books!

***

TUESDAY POTPOURRI: NEW BOOKS & A NEW LOOK…

Welcome to another book release day.  Last week, I posted about the books I pre-ordered and which I will receive today.

Yesterday, I rearranged my space…I was feeling restless and frustrated due to the new restrictions that were handed down here in the residence.  It is all about the coronavirus, which seems to be on all our minds lately.  But the focus brought by the staff here just increases panic and anxiety, in my opinion, so a little “facelift” seemed to be in order.

Here’s what I did:  See photo at the top of the post that showcases my new computer area.  Across the room (below), I placed a table and file cabinet next to the TV.

And here’s another glimpse of the room:

***

Today I’ll be getting a new and smaller chair for the computer area.  And, of course, the pre-ordered books I wrote about last week will arrive!

Now I’m reading The Coconut Layer Cake Murders, by Joanne Fluke.

***

Then I found this Carol Goodman book that was released last week:

The Sea of Lost Girls

In the tradition of Daphne du Maurier, Shari Lapena, and Michelle Richmond comes a new thriller from the bestselling author of The Lake of Dead Languages—a twisty, harrowing story set at a prestigious prep school in which one woman’s carefully hidden past might destroy her future.

***

That is my week so far.  What does yours look like?

***