HUMP DAY READING…

Today I’m participating in Sam’s WWW Wednesdays Here’s how it works:

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next, and/or what are you eagerly awaiting?

***

CURRENTLY READING:

I’m almost finished with this e-ARC.  I’m really enjoying it.

Watch Me (e-book), by Jody Gehrman, (NetGalley – 1/23):   For fans of dark and twisty psychological thrillers, Watch Me is a riveting novel of suspense about how far obsession can go.

 

I just picked up Best Day Ever, by Kaira Rouda, “a creepy, spine-tingling and utterly addictive tale of domestic suspense.”

 

***

BOOKS FINISHED SINCE LAST WEEK: (Click Titles/Covers for My Reviews):

Anatomy of a Scandal (e-book), by Sarah Vaughan (NetGalley – 1/23)

The Woman in the Window (e-book), by A. J. Finn

***

EAGERLY ANTICIPATING:

Next, I plan to start another e-ARC from NetGalley:  The Great Alone, by Kristin Hannah, Release Date – 2/6/18

Synopsis:  Ernt Allbright, a former POW, comes home from the Vietnam war a changed and volatile man. When he loses yet another job, he makes an impulsive decision: he will move his family north, to Alaska, where they will live off the grid in America’s last true frontier.

Thirteen-year-old Leni, a girl coming of age in a tumultuous time, caught in the riptide of her parents’ passionate, stormy relationship, dares to hope that a new land will lead to a better future for her family. She is desperate for a place to belong. Her mother, Cora, will do anything and go anywhere for the man she loves, even if means following him into the unknown.

At first, Alaska seems to be the answer to their prayers. In a wild, remote corner of the state, they find a fiercely independent community of strong men and even stronger women. The long, sunlit days and the generosity of the locals make up for the Allbrights’ lack of preparation and dwindling resources.

But as winter approaches and darkness descends on Alaska, Ernt’s fragile mental state deteriorates and the family begins to fracture. Soon the perils outside pale in comparison to threats from within. In their small cabin, covered in snow, blanketed in eighteen hours of night, Leni and her mother learn the terrible truth: they are on their own. In the wild, there is no one to save them but themselves.

***

That’s my week so far…what did yours look like?

***

33 thoughts on “HUMP DAY READING…

  1. Emily Wrayburn

    Ooh, these all sound really good! I think I have seen Watch Me on Netgalley but I will have to resist the temptation to request it for now, as I already have a number of pending ARCs.

    Here’s my WWW post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do love the covers on these…and while I don’t get to see them often (reading on my Kindle), I like when I get to share the books, covers and all. Thanks for visiting, Emma, and I hope you love The Woman in the Window.

      Like

  2. Patty

    I actually started reading a mystery called Lord Of The Pies…I only wanted to check it out but it was the middle of the night and I read it until I fell asleep…so now I have to finish it. I can’t wait to hear what your thoughts are on Best Day Ever…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would guess that Lord of the Pies is a cozy mystery. Those books do have a way of capturing us. Thanks for stopping by, Patty, and I’m almost finished with Watch Me (very intense!), and then I’ll immerse myself in Best Day Ever.

      Like

  3. Oh wow! The Great Alone sounds so fascinating. I love when the environment is almost a character in its own right and it sounds like that might be another novel where that’s the case given the way Alaska’s winter is described as parallel to Ernst’s mental state.
    I hope you’re enjoying your other reads, too!
    Thanks for visiting my WWW post and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.