HUMP DAY READING: IT’S BEEN A PLEASURE!

Today I’m participating in Sam’s WWW Wednesdays Here’s how it works:

 

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next, and/or what are you eagerly awaiting?

***

CURRENTLY READING:

I Found You, by Lisa Jewell, a book I’ve had on my stacks since last summer.

 

***

Wait for the Rain (e-book), by Maria Murnane, a book from the author.

 

***

BOOKS FINISHED SINCE LAST WEEK:

(Click titles for reviews):

The Arrangement (e-book), by Sarah Dunn

 

***

Woman No. 17, by Edan Lepucki

 

***

The Housekeeper (e-book), by Suellen Dainty

 

***

The Princess Diarist, by Carrie Fisher

 

***

EAGERLY ANTICIPATING:

I’ve been eyeing It’s Always the Husband, by Michele Campbell, to be released on May 16.  Not long!

 

 

***

Kate, Aubrey, and Jenny first met as college roommates and soon became inseparable, despite being as different as three women can be. Kate was beautiful, wild, wealthy, and damaged. Aubrey, on financial aid, came from a broken home, and wanted more than anything to distance herself from her past. And Jenny was a striver—brilliant, ambitious, and determined to succeed. As an unlikely friendship formed, the three of them swore they would always be there for each other.

But twenty years later, one of them is standing at the edge of a bridge, and someone is urging her to jump.

How did it come to this?

Kate married the gorgeous party boy, Aubrey married up, and Jenny married the boy next door. But how can these three women love and hate each other? Can feelings this strong lead to murder? When one of them dies under mysterious circumstances, will everyone assume, as is often the case, that it’s always the husband?

A suspenseful, absorbing novel that examines the complexities of friendship, It’s Always the Husband will keep readers guessing right up to its shocking conclusion.

***

So…that was my week.  What did yours look like?

***

HUMP DAY READING: IMMERSED IN BOOKS….

Today I’m participating in Sam’s WWW Wednesdays Here’s how it works:

 

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next, and/or what are you eagerly awaiting?

***

CURRENTLY READING:

The Arrangement (e-book), by Sarah Dunn

 

***

Woman No. 17, by Edan Lepucki (Amazon Vine Review)

 

 

***

FINISHED READING (SINCE LAST WEEK):

(Click titles for my reviews)

The Widower’s Wife (e-book), by Cate Holahan

 

 

***

The Widow’s House (e-book), by Carol Goodman

 

 

***

The Secrets You Keep (e-book), by Kate White

 

 

***

ANTICIPATING:

This book is coming to me this week from Amazon Vine:  What’s Become of Her, by Deb Caletti, an emotionally riveting story of a woman falling for a man who may be hiding a dangerous secret—perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah.

 

 

“Guilty people keep secrets.”

Isabelle Austen returns to her hometown on a small, isolated Pacific Northwest island to take over the family tourism business after the death of her mother, a disapproving parent and a hard woman to love. Feeling lost, Isabelle is also struggling with a recent divorce and wondering if she’ll ever come into her own. Then her life takes a surprising turn: The mysterious Henry North arrives on Parrish Island, steps off a seaplane, and changes Isabelle’s world forever. From the beginning, their relationship is heady and intense—then Isabelle learns of Henry’s disturbing past, involving the death of a fiancée and the disappearance of a wife. Suddenly Isabelle is caught between love and suspicion, paranoia and passion, as she searches for the truth she may not want to find—and is swept into a dangerous game she may not survive.

***

This one had me at that Pacific Northwest Island…and secrets.  Even danger could not keep me away.  What are you passionate about this week?

***

HUMP DAY READING: A GREAT WEEK…

Today I’m participating in Sam’s WWW Wednesdays Here’s how it works:

 

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next, and/or what are you eagerly awaiting?

***

CURRENTLY READING:

The Widower’s Wife (e-book), by Cate Holahan, is “One of those rare thrillers that really will keep you reading all night.”
Kirkus starred review

 

 

***

JUST FINISHED:

Since our last WWW, I’ve finished these books:

One Perfect Lie (e-book), by Lisa Scottoline (click title for my review) – (NetGalley – 4/11)

 

***

The Perfect Stranger (e-book), by Megan Miranda (click for review) (NetGalley – 4/11)

 

***

Beach Breeze, by Joanne DeMaio (click for review) (Author Review Request)

 

***

Slightly South of Simple, by Kristy Woodson Harvey (Author Review Request)

 

***

EAGERLY ANTICIPATING:

I just discovered a book coming out on July 25 from a new favorite author of thrillers:  The Lying Game, by Ruth Ware…

 

 

Blurb:  On a cool June morning, a woman is walking her dog in the idyllic coastal village of Salten along a tidal estuary known as the Reach. Before she can stop him, the dog charges into the water to retrieve what first appears to be a wayward stick, but to her horror, turns out to be something much more sinister…

The next morning, three women in and around London—Fatima, Thea, and Isabel—receive the text they had always hoped would NEVER come, from the fourth in their formerly inseparable clique, Kate, that says only, “I need you.”

The four girls were best friends at Salten, a second rate boarding school set near the cliffs of the English Channel. Each different in their own way, the four became inseparable and were notorious for playing the Lying Game, telling lies at every turn to both fellow boarders and faculty, with varying states of serious and flippant nature that were disturbing enough to ensure that everyone steered clear of them. The myriad and complicated rules of the game are strict: no lying to each other—ever. Bail on the lie when it becomes clear it is about to be found out. But their little game had consequences, and the girls were all expelled in their final year of school under mysterious circumstances surrounding the death of the school’s eccentric art teacher, Ambrose (who also happens to be Kate’s father).

Atmospheric, twisty, and with just the right amount of chill that will keep you wrong-footed—which has now become Ruth Ware’s signature style—The Lying Game is sure to be her next big bestseller. Another unputdownable thriller from the Agatha Christie of our time.

***

So…that was my rather fascinating week of great reading.  What was yours like?

***

HUMP DAY READING: CURRENT, PAST, & FUTURE

Today I’m participating in Sam’s WWW Wednesdays Here’s how it works:

 

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next, and/or what are you eagerly awaiting?

***

CURRENTLY READING:

One Perfect Lie (e-book), by Lisa Scottoline, is an emotional thriller and a suburban crime story that will have readers riveted up to the shocking end, with killer twists and characters you won’t soon forget.

 

 

For some reason, I have done very little reading yesterday and today.  Perhaps because I’m still adjusting after the beach getaway this past weekend, and the party here in town after we returned home.  I’ve also been catching up on my DVR shows.  But I’m enjoying what I’ve read so far.

***

JUST FINISHED:

At the beach hotel, I sat on the terrace and read, and then read some more before falling asleep at night.  I loved this book, which I finished on Saturday:   Small Hours, by Jennifer Kitses, an Amazon Vine review.  (Click the title for my review).

 

***

EAGERLY ANTICIPATING:

I have a long list bookmarked on Amazon, with some upcoming releases as soon as next week, like this one:  The Widow of Wall Street, by Randy Susan Meyers.

 

 

***

Blurb:  A provocative new novel by bestselling author Randy Susan Meyers about the seemingly blind love of a wife for her husband as he conquers Wall Street, and her extraordinary, perhaps foolish, loyalty during his precipitous fall.

Phoebe recognizes fire in Jake Pierce’s belly from the moment they meet as teenagers. As he creates a financial dynasty, she trusts him without hesitation—unaware his hunger for success hides a dark talent for deception.

When Phoebe learns her husband’s triumph and vast reach rests on an elaborate Ponzi scheme her world unravels. As Jake’s crime is uncovered, the world obsesses about Phoebe. Did she know her life was fabricated by fraud? Was she his accomplice?

While Jake is trapped in the web of his deceit, Phoebe is caught in an unbearable choice. Her children refuse to see her if she remains at their father’s side, but abandoning him feels cruel and impossible.

From penthouse to prison, with tragic consequences rippling well beyond Wall Street, Randy Susan Meyers’s latest novel exposes a woman struggling to survive and then redefine her life as her world crumbles.

***

I’ve been seeing this one everywhere, and my anticipation has grown.  Now I can’t wait!

What has your week been like?

***

HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: LET’S LOOK AT OUR READING….

Today I’m participating in Sam’s WWW Wednesdays Here’s how it works:

 

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next, and/or what are you eagerly awaiting?

***

CURRENTLY READING:

The Cutaway, by Christina Kovac, is a striking debut that will haunt you long after you reach the last page.

 

 

***

JUST FINISHED:

Persons Unknown, by Susie Steiner (click for my review), a riveting book with characters that resonated with me.

 

 

***

EAGERLY ANTICIPATING:

I’m excited about an upcoming release that I can’t wait to get on my shelf:  Every Last Lie, by Mary Kubica, the author of Good Girl, Don’t You Cry, & Pretty Baby, will be released on June 27, 2017.

 

Blurb:  Clara Solberg’s world shatters when her husband and their four-year-old daughter are in a car crash, killing Nick while Maisie is remarkably unharmed. The crash is ruled an accident…until the coming days, when Maisie starts having night terrors that make Clara question what really happened on that fateful afternoon.

Tormented by grief and her obsession that Nick’s death was far more than just an accident, Clara is plunged into a desperate hunt for the truth. Who would have wanted Nick dead? And, more important, why? Clara will stop at nothing to find out—and the truth is only the beginning of this twisted tale of secrets and deceit.

Told in the alternating perspectives of Clara’s investigation and Nick’s last months leading up to the crash, master of suspense Mary Kubica weaves her most chilling thriller to date—one that explores the dark recesses of a mind plagued by grief and shows that some secrets might be better left buried.

***

What does your reading world look like this week?

***