SUNDAY POTPOURRI: OBSESSIVE TIDBITS…

Good morning!  Welcome to another Sunday Potpourri, a post that focuses on life’s little tidbits, obsessions, etc.

Today I’ve been thinking about bookish things…and also about a change in venue I’m bringing next weekend:  I’ll be posting my Weekly Updates on my An Interior Journey blog.

Yes, it is time for a change.  So far, I’ve featured my updates on Serendipity, Rainy Days and Mondays, and Curl up and Read.  A long time ago, I hosted the event on An Interior Journey.

The only blogs that are not featured are this one and Snow Sparks.  Primarily because they have not been the traditional book blogs.  But that seems to be changing.  So who knows what could happen next?

 

Now for the bookish things.  Lately I’ve noticed that I get lots of e-mails from Goodreads, offering “deals,” and it is annoying, since in many cases, I already have the books.

But then I realized that there is no category for “already have the book.”  There is “want to read,” “currently reading,” “read,” etc.

And even the categories listed above are confusing, since you might have read the Kindle version of a book, but if your search leads you to the book, and it lands on one of the other versions, it will not show that you’ve read it.

I don’t want to complain, since I can’t offer a solution.  I do know that I stopped participating in the Goodreads Challenge because, if I accidentally clicked that I read a book and it was the wrong version…and then I changed it…the stats would be wrong.

So…I do love Goodreads for telling me what I’ve read (once I click on the correct version), and this has saved me from duplicate book buys.

I need to change my iPhone settings somehow, as I can’t get to the Goodreads page from my phone.  Which means that I can’t find the answers when I’m out and about…at Barnes & Noble, for example.

***

Any thoughts? Am I obsessively focusing on the wrong things?  Are there ways to manage the Goodreads shelves?

***

5 thoughts on “SUNDAY POTPOURRI: OBSESSIVE TIDBITS…

    1. Thanks for visiting, Patty, and not noticing just means that you don’t obsess about all those (probably unimportant) tidbits.

      But I did stop the Challenge because of the way they list the various versions…and how it is sometimes difficult to click on the right one.

      Like

  1. Honestly I don’t worry about which “version” of the book I read. I feel like in reading the medium isn’t important, it’s the message. That being said, I completely disregard the Goodreads deals! I have too many books as it is to pile more on! Hence why I’m on a Book Buying Ban this year (so far so good!).

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.