HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: WAITING ON “SMALL BLESSINGS”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

Welcome to Hump Day Potpourri...and another week of Waiting on Wednesdays, with the plethora of upcoming releases showcased at Breaking the Spine.

I have a long list of books I can’t wait to add to my shelves, but today I will feature one that is coming on 8/12/14.  Small Blessings, by Martha Woodroof, is a unique story of a quiet life that is about to change dramatically.

 

 

18404204

 

Blurb:  Tom Putnam has resigned himself to a quiet and half-fulfilled life. An English professor in a sleepy college town, he spends his days browsing the Shakespeare shelves at the campus bookstore, managing the oddball faculty in his department and caring, alongside his formidable mother-in-law, for his wife Marjory, a fragile shut-in with unrelenting neuroses, a condition exacerbated by her discovery of Tom’s brief and misguided affair with a visiting poetess a decade earlier.

Then, one evening at the bookstore, Tom and Marjory meet Rose Callahan, the shop’s charming new hire, and Marjory invites Rose to their home for dinner, out of the blue, her first social interaction since her breakdown. Tom wonders if it’s a sign that change is on the horizon, a feeling confirmed upon his return home, where he opens a letter from his former paramour, informing him he’d fathered a son who is heading Tom’s way on a train.  His mind races at the possibility of having a family after so many years of loneliness. And it becomes clear change is coming whether Tom’s ready or not.

A heartwarming story with a charmingly imperfect cast of characters to cheer for, Small Blessings‘s wonderfully optimistic heart that reminds us that sometimes, when it feels like life has veered irrevocably off track, the track shifts in ways we never can have imagined.

***

I thoroughly enjoy characters that struggle with their issues, yet try to do the right thing.  I also love watching them extricate themselves from these difficulties and move on.  I am looking forward to this story.

***

What are you eagerly anticipating?  Come on by and leave your comments and links, please!

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: WAITING ON “SMALL BLESSINGS”

    1. Oh, wow! Is that the next Vine day? I always lose track…LOL.

      I have four more that have due dates (the 20th), not counting the one that just shipped…which I haven’t received.

      Thanks for stopping by, Patty.

      Like

  1. New title and author for me, and I am very intrigued by the whole plot: the shut-in wife, the former mistress, the quiet life of a professor…need to read it. By the way, I just love the new look of this blog– I guess I have neglected to visit this one of your 4oo 🙂 blogs recently. I will sit down later and read through all your tabs later. Thanks for the tip about this book.

    Like

    1. Ha-ha…Yes, I have this tendency to play with the headers, backgrounds, and themes…it’s like an obsession! Oh, yes, that’s what this blog is all about…but I don’t limit the craziness to this site…no, they are all fair game.

      It is sort of like redecorating, but without having to spend money.

      Thanks for visiting, Rita…and I love the idea of this book, too. I wish I could get it sooner than August. I’m hoping it will show up on the Vine list.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.