HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: THE NEW YEAR…

As the New Year approaches, I find myself checking out my TBR…and also putting up new calendars, like this one in my office, below (Georgia O’Keeffe).  After I hung the calendar, I had to move the little figurine of “a circle of bears” that once sat atop that book…to the shelf above.

The Christmas decorations are still up…but I’m feeling restless.  I may end up taking them down BEFORE New Year’s.

New Year’s Eve:  what I love to do is watch movies, in between reading…and at midnight, I turn on Dick Clark’s show (even though he is no longer on it).  I might have some popcorn…and Champagne.

My First Book of the Year post will be up on January 1…at An Interior Journey.  Shhh…not revealing the title just yet, but I sent my photo of myself holding the book to Sheila, at Book Journey, since she is hosting our event.

Another tradition for the New Year:  our One Word.  For 2017, I chose HOPE.

***

What word will suit me for 2018?  Still pondering…

Meanwhile, continuing to read the books on my TBR…and I have some NetGalley books to read before January is over:

The Girls in the Picture, by Melanie Benjamin -Currently Reading-1/16/18

Anatomy of a Scandal, by Sarah Vaughan (1/23/18)

Watch Me, by Jody Gehrman (1/23/18)

***

On Netflix, I’ve been watching Fuller House. 

Years ago, I recall watching Full House, and now the “kids” are all grown up.  I see several of the actors in Hallmark events these days:  Candace Cameron-Bure, Jodie Sweetin, Lori Loughlin…

As much as I enjoy the Hallmark Channel, I must comment that so many of the same actors show up over and over…and the ones who have a certain “look” are always the bad guys.  When you see those actors, you know that they are up to “no good.”

***

What events/books/movies are you looking forward to in 2018?

***

7 thoughts on “HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: THE NEW YEAR…

  1. Patty

    I haven’t been watching the Hallmark Channel that long but I have noticed the familiar faces. I have not a clue what I want to read…I am still lost in a sea of kitty cozies! Staying in for NYE is what we love to do…

    I can’t even think about taking down Christmas but it’s a tempting thought!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I tend not to put my calendar up until the 1st but its tempting! I must get my photo off to Sheila, will be tomorrow’s task! I watched a little of the Fuller House – I did love Full House but not so sure about the spin off.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for visiting, Kathryn, and it’s been so long since I watched Full House that I was confused about who was who in Fuller House…and what their relationships were. After watching half the first season, I’m a little bored by their antics. LOL.

      I can’t resist putting up my calendars a week or so before the month is over. For a New Year, I buy the calendars in November.

      Enjoy your weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.