TUESDAY POTPOURRI: “THE BAD THINGS”

Books & fairytales - TUESDAY EXCERPTS

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by Books & a Beat.

Today’s featured book is one I recently downloaded:  The Bad Things, by Mary-Jane Riley.  A darkly compelling psychological thriller, full of twists and turns, perfect for fans of THE WICKED GIRLS, by Alex Marwood and THE GIRL IN THE RED COAT, by Kate Hamer.

 

 

 

26155541

***

Intro:  (Fifteen Years Ago)

The stench was overpowering.  Katie squatted on her haunches and pulled at the zip.  The material tore; the metal teeth nicked her finger.  Thoughts flashed through her mind:  should she wait?  Could this be evidence?  She lifted the lid.  The sightless, decaying eyes of a child stared up at her.  The little boy, for it must have been a boy, was dressed in blue Thomas the Tank Engine pyjamas.  His legs had been folded beneath his body so that he fitted neatly into the space.  It rather looked, thought Katie, as if he’d been packed up, ready for death.

***

Teaser:  (Then) It was dark and it was cold but her little torch led the way along the roads between the caravans at Harbour’s End.  A weak light shone from behind the thin curtain hanging at the window of the caravan.  She knew it was the right one. (95%).

***

Synopsis:  Alex Devlin’s life changed forever fifteen years ago when her sister Sasha’s two small children were snatched in broad daylight. Little Harry’s body was found a few days later, but Millie’s remains were never discovered.

Now Jackie Wood, jailed as an accessory to the twins’ murder, has been released, her conviction quashed by the Appeal Court. Convinced Jackie can reveal where Millie is buried, Alex goes to meet her.

But the unexpected information Wood reveals shocks Alex to the core and threatens to uncover the dark secret she has managed to keep under wraps for the past fifteen years. Because in the end, can we ever really know what is in the hearts of those closest to us?

***

I love the sound of this one.  What do you think?  Does it grab you?  Tempt you?

***

Advertisements

21 thoughts on “TUESDAY POTPOURRI: “THE BAD THINGS”

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s