TUESDAY POTPOURRI: “SUNDAY MORNING COMING DOWN”

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by The Purple Booker.

Today’s feature is my current read, the seventh book in the Frieda Klein series:  Sunday Morning Coming Down, by Nicci French.

 

Intro:  All at once the flat was full of noises.  The phone rang, stopped, then rang again.  The mobile rattled on the table.  The doorbell sounded once, twice, and at the same time there was a thumping sound on the door itself.  Detective Chief Inspector Karlsson lifted himself from his chair on to his crutches, moved to the door and opened it.

A very short, very thin woman was looking at him with a frown.  Her gingery-brown hair was cut almost to a bristle at the back, but with a long fringe that fell over one eye.  She had a narrow, pale face, slightly asymmetrical, with colourless brows and eyes the brown of cinnamon.  She was dressed in a black anorak, baggy grey jumper, dark trousers and orange trainers.  Behind her the rain was falling.  Her face was wet with it.  The branches of a plane tree creaked above her.

‘I’m Chief Inspector Petra Burge.’

***

Teaser:  And then it was the easiest thing in the world.  Easier than the first time.  Easier than the niece.  Easier than Reuben McGill.  It was what he’d been telling himself:  you have to learn to improvise, be in a state of readiness and wait for the perfect moment. (p. 203).

***

Synopsis (from Goodreads):  Psychotherapist Dr Frieda Klein once again finds herself in the midst of a criminal investigation when the rotting body of an ex-policeman is found beneath the floorboards of her house.

The corpse is only months old but the main suspect, murderer Dean Reeve, died over seven years ago.

As the killer picks off his next victims and her home is turned into a crime scene, Frieda’s old life seems like a hazy dream.

With eyes of the world upon her and no answers from the police, Frieda realises that she will have to track this killer before he tracks down those she loves.

***

I love this series.  There are recurring characters and a thread that weaves its way through all of the books, from the beginning.  Will this be the book that snips that thread?

***

TUESDAY POTPOURRI: “THE SECRETS SHE KEEPS”

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by The Purple Booker.

Today’s featured book is a recent download:  The Secrets She Keeps, by Michael Robotham, a riveting suspense novel about the unlikely friendship between two pregnant women that asks: how far would you go to create the perfect family?

 

Intro:  (Agatha)

I am not the most important person in this story.  That honor belongs to Meg, who is married to Jack, and they are the perfect parents of two perfect children, a boy and a girl, blond and blue-eyed and sweeter than honey cakes.  Meg is pregnant again and I couldn’t be more excited because I’m having a baby too.

***

Teaser:  (Agatha)

After the introductions, I’m shown into the room they call “the parlor,” where I perch on the edge of the sofa, knees together.  Everything in the room seems to match, with the same floral pattern on the curtains, the cushions, and the wastepaper basket.  Tea and cake are served.  I’m starving, but I’m on crumb watch. (p. 56).

***

Synopsis:  Agatha is pregnant and works part-time stocking shelves at a grocery store in a ritzy London suburb, counting down the days until her baby is due. As the hours of her shifts creep by in increasing discomfort, the one thing she looks forward to at work is catching a glimpse of Meghan, the effortlessly chic customer whose elegant lifestyle dazzles her. Meghan has it all: two perfect children, a handsome husband, a happy marriage, a stylish group of friends, and she writes perfectly droll confessional posts on her popular parenting blog—posts that Agatha reads with devotion each night as she waits for her absent boyfriend, the father of her baby, to maybe return her calls.

When Agatha learns that Meghan is pregnant again, and that their due dates fall within the same month, she finally musters up the courage to speak to her, thrilled that they now have the ordeal of childbearing in common. Little does Meghan know that the mundane exchange she has with a grocery store employee during a hurried afternoon shopping trip is about to change the course of her not-so-perfect life forever…

With its brilliant rendering of the secrets some women hold close and a shocking act that cannot be undone, The Secrets She Keeps delivers a dark and twisted page-turner that is absolutely impossible to put down.

***

What do you think?  Do the excerpts grab you?  Would you keep reading?

***

TUESDAY POTPOURRI: “FAULTLINES”

Books & fairytales - TUESDAY EXCERPTS

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by The Purple Booker.

My feature today is a relatively new download from an author I enjoy:  Faultlines, by Barbara Taylor Sissel, a story of tragedy and the testing of a close-knit family.

 

 

31130156

 

Intro:  Jordy wasn’t dead.

Sandy plucked that single fact from the sea of information she was hearing from the police sergeant, and she clung to it as tightly as she clung to the phone.  Behind her, she felt the bed shift when Emmett sat up.  She felt his warmth, his sleepy unawareness—his beforeness, and she envied him.  “What is it?” he asked, and he was close enough that his breath on her bare shoulder made her shiver.

“Jordy’s been in a car accident,” she said, and the words floated away from her, separate, foreign sounding.

***

Teaser:  Sandy saw the woman loitering by the cart-return area nearest her truck when she came out of the grocery store, and as she passed her, she had a sense of the woman’s stare drilling her back like the hot August glare.  She stowed her bags of groceries, searching her mind for a reference, and found none. (53%).

***

Synopsis:  It’s the phone call every parent dreads: in the middle of the night, Sandy Cline learns that her twenty-year-old son, Jordan, has been in a car accident. Her nephew, Travis, was also in the car, along with Travis’s girlfriend. All three are alive—but barely. The car was smashed against a tree along a remote and winding road, beautiful but deadly, in their rural Texas Hill Country town.

In the wake of the car crash, the close-knit family is tested like never before. Jenna, Travis’s mother, blames Jordan—as well as her sister, Sandy—after reports surface that Jordan had been driving. As the young adults struggle to survive, tension between their parents escalates. But when trust is broken and a shocking family secret is exposed, it creates a perfect storm of harrowing consequences. Rumors in the small town spread like wildfire. When details of the accident are questioned, Sandy and Jenna wonder if their family has been destroyed beyond repair.

As always, there’s much more to the story…if the family is to survive, they will have to come together to confront the terrible truth and overcome their pain. But are some betrayals unforgivable?

***

What do you think?  Would you keep reading?

***

TUESDAY POTPOURRI: “THE BAD THINGS”

Books & fairytales - TUESDAY EXCERPTS

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by Books & a Beat.

Today’s featured book is one I recently downloaded:  The Bad Things, by Mary-Jane Riley.  A darkly compelling psychological thriller, full of twists and turns, perfect for fans of THE WICKED GIRLS, by Alex Marwood and THE GIRL IN THE RED COAT, by Kate Hamer.

 

 

 

26155541

***

Intro:  (Fifteen Years Ago)

The stench was overpowering.  Katie squatted on her haunches and pulled at the zip.  The material tore; the metal teeth nicked her finger.  Thoughts flashed through her mind:  should she wait?  Could this be evidence?  She lifted the lid.  The sightless, decaying eyes of a child stared up at her.  The little boy, for it must have been a boy, was dressed in blue Thomas the Tank Engine pyjamas.  His legs had been folded beneath his body so that he fitted neatly into the space.  It rather looked, thought Katie, as if he’d been packed up, ready for death.

***

Teaser:  (Then) It was dark and it was cold but her little torch led the way along the roads between the caravans at Harbour’s End.  A weak light shone from behind the thin curtain hanging at the window of the caravan.  She knew it was the right one. (95%).

***

Synopsis:  Alex Devlin’s life changed forever fifteen years ago when her sister Sasha’s two small children were snatched in broad daylight. Little Harry’s body was found a few days later, but Millie’s remains were never discovered.

Now Jackie Wood, jailed as an accessory to the twins’ murder, has been released, her conviction quashed by the Appeal Court. Convinced Jackie can reveal where Millie is buried, Alex goes to meet her.

But the unexpected information Wood reveals shocks Alex to the core and threatens to uncover the dark secret she has managed to keep under wraps for the past fifteen years. Because in the end, can we ever really know what is in the hearts of those closest to us?

***

I love the sound of this one.  What do you think?  Does it grab you?  Tempt you?

***

TUESDAY POTPOURRI: “IN HER WAKE”

Books & fairytales - TUESDAY EXCERPTS

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by Books & a Beat.

Today’s feature, In Her Wake, by Amanda Jennings, is a gripping psychological thriller that questions the nature of family – and reminds us that sometimes the most shocking crimes are committed closest to home.

 

 

29011229

 

Intro: (Prologue)

I dreamt vividly the night she died.  I’ve had this dream before.  In it I am running.  Always running.  My heart thumps in my ears.  My breath comes in short, painful gasps.  It is dark and cold and the trees reach out to grab at me, as if they are alive, as if they are trying to capture me with their long, twiggy fingers.  Their roots are thick and hidden and I trip repeatedly.  I think my feet must hurt.  I look down to see that I am wearing only one slipper.

When did I lose the other?

***

Teaser:  My heart beats faster as I take in their faces with excited fascination.  I remember how it felt to grow up without grandparents, imagining what it must be like to have kindly old people to shower you with presents and unconditional hugs. (44%).

***

Synopsis:  “A perfect life … until she discovered it wasn’t her own”

A tragic family event reveals devastating news that rips apart Bella’s comfortable existence. Embarking on a personal journey to uncover the truth, she faces a series of traumatic discoveries that take her to the ruggedly beautiful Cornish coast, where hidden truths, past betrayals and a 25-year-old mystery threaten not just her identity, but also her life…

***

What do you think?  Are you drawn in?  Would you keep reading?

***