HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: A DAY OF READING, ETC.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yesterday was a day for reading.  It started out very early—in fact, my whole week has started earlier each day than I would like!—because I had to take my car to the dealer to replace the airbags on the passenger side.  There was a recall, but I had been waiting a year for the repair!

So I wasn’t going to miss the appointment.

Since it was an all-day affair, I took the shuttle back home and curled up on my sofa (above).

I finished reading Friction yesterday (click for review)…and it was a good one to get my mind off of the waiting.

 

25263917

***

Because I had been waiting…and reading, I didn’t go on my laptop until after I came home again.  So I was pleased (and surprised) to discover a new NetGalley book that I hadn’t even requested, but had been wanting.  Damaged, by Lisa Scottoline. (Release Date – 8/16).

 

 

51DlidRTvXL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

***

One boy. One lawyer. One chance for justice.

Ten-year-old Patrick O’Brien is a natural target at school. Shy, dyslexic, and small for his age, he tries to hide his first-grade reading level from everyone: from his classmates, from the grandfather who cares for him, and from the teachers who are supposed to help him. But the real trouble begins when Patrick is accused of attacking a school aide. The aide promptly quits and sues the boy, his family, and the school district. Patrick’s grandfather turns to the law firm of Rosato & DiNunzio for help and Mary DiNunzio is on the case. Soon Mary becomes Patrick’s true champion and his only hope for security and justice. But there is more to the story than meets the eye and Patrick might be more troubled than he seems. With twists at every turn and secrets about the family coming to light, Mary DiNunzio might have found the case that can make her a true protector, or break her heart…

***

Before I came home, though, I stopped at The Elephant Bar for a bite…a nice outing after my day stuck in the house.  Pippa was my companion.

 

july 5 dinner***

What are you reading, doing, or looking forward to today?  My quirky doll (below) sits next to my books on the shelf in my office…and is now featured on my header.  I think she deserves a name.  What do you think?  Does she look like a Sasha?  A Natasha?  Or maybe Sophie.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA***

2 thoughts on “HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: A DAY OF READING, ETC.

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.