HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: THE TAX BITE

tax-time

Luckily, this image does not reflect my activities at tax time, since I leave most of it to the accountant.

But there is a great deal of angst that goes on in the hours leading up to the appointment, as I go through all the items in the folder I keep…making sure that I have everything.

Then there is the additional anxiety that I have in the hours just before the meeting:  will I have to pay more taxes?

In 2009, I had a large chunk of extra taxes, hence the subsequent anxiety each year.  Even though I took steps to make sure that shouldn’t happen again, there is always the fear that the final tax bill is just waiting to bite me…and come at me with unexpected bad news.

Tomorrow is my appointment, and I really like my accountant…she makes our meeting fun; she is quick with her calculations; and she can tell me a ballpark figure by the end of our appointment.  Nevertheless, I need one of these afterwards.

 

 

fancy-coffee

Or maybe one of these:

 

 

lunch in jan

***

I will take Pippa along, so that I can enjoy my reading after the appointment…either with the latte or the cocktail.

Today I am reading The Passenger, by Lisa Lutz.  I wasn’t sure that I would dive into this one yet…but it has been calling to me!

 

 

26154406

From the author of the New York Times bestselling Spellman Files series, Lisa Lutz’s latest blistering thriller is about a woman who creates and sheds new identities as she crisscrosses the country to escape her past: you’ll want to buckle up for the ride!

***

What is Hump Day bringing to you?

***

4 thoughts on “HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: THE TAX BITE

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.