TUESDAY POTPOURRI: BLISSFUL TUESDAY…

In Week Three of our Lockdown, I am feeling the familiar ups and downs…but on Tuesdays, I am always excited.  New books!

Today I downloaded one that has been out for a bit; I’ve been seeing it around, and I think it might be just the thing for these troubled times.

Separation Anxiety, by Laura Zigman

From bestselling author Laura Zigman, a hilarious novel about a wife and mother whose life is unraveling and the well-intentioned but increasingly disastrous steps she takes to course-correct her relationships, her career, and her belief in herself…

***

Currently I am still reading The Operator, by Gretchen Berg, a book that takes us back to the 1950s…gentler times?

 

What if you could listen in on any phone conversation in town? With great humor and insight, The Operator by Gretchen Berg delivers a vivid look inside the heads and hearts of a group of housewives and pokes at the absurdities of 1950s America, a simpler time that was far from simple. Think The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel in the suburbs with delicious turns of jealousy, infidelity, bigotry, and embezzlement thrown in for good measure. The Operator is irresistible!”

 — Kathryn Stockett, author of the New York Times bestselling novel The Help

***

What books are you reading?  What is on your “up next” stack?

***

TUESDAY POTPOURRI: INSPIRATION!

Welcome to another Tuesday, in which we share our bookish finds…and anything else that is keeping us going during these troublesome times.

Before I talk about the books: last night, I was inspired by watching a Margaret Atwood documentary on Hulu.  I learned more about her younger years, and also how she came to write The Handmaid’s Tale and its sequel.  Here are some images from the video (Margaret, on the left, and her agent on the right):

Margaret talking at an event:

***

As for new book releases, I found two that have been on my list:

The Sea Glass Cottage, by RaeAnne Thayne

From the New York Times bestselling author RaeAnne Thayne comes a brand-new novel for fans of Debbie Macomber and Susan Wiggs. RaeAnne Thayne tells the story of an emotional homecoming that brings hope and healing to three generations of women.

***

Follow Me, by Kathleen Barber

From the author of Truth Be Told (formerly titled Are You Sleeping)—now an Apple TV series of the same name—comes a cautionary tale of oversharing in the social media age for fans of Jessica Knoll and Caroline Kepnes’s You.

***

Today I am moving toward the conclusion of my current read:  And They Called It Camelot, which I am loving!

***

This morning I woke up early, but I have no place to go…Lockdown!  But…I like being able to blog and find new books while waiting for the breakfast tray at 7:00.

My daughter has promised to shop for supplies for me…and deliver them to the staff here.  That’s something, right?

Enjoy your day, and stay healthy and safe.

***

SATURDAY POTPOURRI: COPING…

Another example of our “New Normal,” aka The Lockdown:  the breakfast arrives in paper cartons, but because I need to grasp for some normalcy in these times, I unload the items into my own bowls and mugs/tumblers.  Once done, I can relax and feel like myself.

I am still reading The Missing Sister, by Elle Marr.  My plan is to finish it some time today.

Next I will be reading And They Called It Camelot, by Stephanie Marie Thornton.

***

I have enjoyed binge-watching shows and movies, and finished the three episodes of Little Fires Everywhere that are now available on Hulu.  I can’t wait for more episodes to come!  They left us on a cliff, hanging by a thread.

***

My day will be a pleasant one, I believe.  Using my isolation for good and trying to keep the anxiety at bay.

How are the rest of you doing?

***

TUESDAY POTPOURRI: BOOK BUYING & BOOK READING…

Here we are again…Book Release Day!  And even though I am trying to curb my book buying passion, I have already purchased TWO books in 2020.

But I’ve read three books so far toward my Goodreads 2020 Reading Challenge!

Yeah, one thing has nothing to do with the other, right?  If I were reading from my 2020 book purchases, it would be meaningful. Sort of.

I did a count last week, looking at my 2019 Book Purchases, and patted myself on the back for reading 75 of my 101 purchases for that year.  But one of those 101 books was a DNF…and that means I still have 25 of them to go.

But…let’s look at today’s purchases.

***

The Country Guesthouse, by Robyn Carr

#1 New York Times bestselling author Robyn Carr delivers an emotional and triumphant novel about the fierce power of a mother’s love.

A summer rental, a new beginning…

***

Then I bought The Vanishing, Fogg Lake #1, by Jayne Ann Krentz

From New York Times bestselling author Jayne Ann Krentz comes a gripping new romantic suspense trilogy fraught with danger and enigma.

Decades ago in the small town of Fogg Lake, The Incident occurred: an explosion in the cave system that released unknown gases. The residents slept for two days. When they woke up they discovered that things had changed—they had changed. Some started having visions. Others heard ominous voices. And then, scientists from a mysterious government agency arrived…

***

So…2020 promises to be another year when books seemingly fall out of the sky and onto my Kindle.

But I also have a stack of nonfiction and fiction hardcover books to read that I purchased in 2019.  It should be an interesting New Year, curling up with all of these tomes.

How is your year shaping up so far?

***

TUESDAY POTPOURRI: ANOTHER DAY OF BOOK BUYING…

Welcome to another Tuesday Book Release Day!  And, happily, I have a birthday gift card from Amazon, so I’m having so much fun.

Already I’ve purchased three books:  One Kindle download and two paperback versions that will arrive tomorrow (because of Prime!).

***

The Poison Garden, by A. J. Banner

 

 

“[A] sharply written and taut psychological thriller…” —Seattle Times

A woman’s idyllic life becomes a deceptive hall of mirrors in a thriller of exquisitely constructed psychological suspense by A. J. Banner, bestselling author of The Good Neighbor.

***

Then tomorrow’s package will bring:

 

The Family, by Louise Jensen

 

The latest psychological thriller from master story-teller, Louise Jensen, will leave you breathless.

COULD ONE MOTHER’S MISTAKE COST HER DAUGHTER EVERYTHING?

***

All the Flowers in Paris, by Sarah Jio

 

 

“Sarah Jio weaves past and present in this eminently readable novel about love, gratitude, and forgiveness. I tore through the pages!”—New York Times bestselling author Christina Baker Kline

Two women are connected across time by the city of Paris, a mysterious stack of love letters, and shocking secrets sweeping from World War II to the present—for readers of Sarah’s Key and The Nightingale.

 

***

Since many of my books were “lost” in my move (sold, given away, etc.), I am enjoying building my shelves up again.  I know that I’ll never have as many as I once had…not enough space.  But I do love the process.

***

Today I’m reading Queen Meryl, by Erin Carlson, which I ordered a few weeks ago.

 

 

***

What books are you ordering today, if any?

Has anyone else noticed something strange happening at Goodreads?  Whenever I buy a book from Amazon, it shows up there as “read.”  Not just occasionally: regularly.  I find it annoying!

***

TUESDAY POTPOURRI: RELEASES & HIT & MISS READING…

Another Tuesday has arrived!  No surprise there, they come every week.  But do I find new releases every time?  Most of the time, actually, although sometimes I just bookmark them for later.

Today I received a pre-ordered download: Never Tell, by Lisa Gardner, one of my favorite must-buy authors. brings an unpredictable thriller that puts fan favorites D.D. Warren and Flora Dane on a shocking new case that begins with a vicious murder and gets darker from there.

 

***

I have another release from today that I just bookmarked.  Will I wait a while, or will I give in?

The Next to Die, by Sophie Hannah, another favorite mystery author: a disturbing tale of psychological suspense and obsession that hits at the heart of some of our most precious relationships.

***

So far this week, my reading has been hit and miss.  I finished a book that I didn’t like (Late in the Day), and I’ll admit to a little skimming at the end since I really hated the story and the characters, some more than others.

Last night I started Come Find Me, by Megan Miranda…and I’m hopeful.  But it’s early days.

***

This post has been a challenge!  The links are showing up in the wrong places…not usually a problem.  I’ll see what happens when I check them.  Okay, all checked and all good.  But how weird!

How has your week unfolded so far?

***

 

 

SUNDAY POTPOURRI: A DILEMMA – GO OUT OR STAY IN…

Good morning, Blog World!  As I plan my day, I am clicking through blogs, commenting, and adding new titles to my list.

Outside it is 44 degrees, with a high of 65 expected.  So, not bad.  And no rain on the horizon.

Last week was awesome, in terms of books, which successfully distracted me from events unfolding around us.

When I was on FB yesterday, I found this photo of Fiona’s newest look.  She always tries different things. I like it.  She looks sweet…and reminds me of her younger years.  She will be 22 next month…along with her “twin cousin” Aubrey.

 

She is studying to be a massage therapist.  She has gone through so many programs, but this one seems to be clicking for her.  I put in my request for a test of her skills when she is finished.  Or sooner.

Someone gave her a massage bench, so she’s all set.

***

Should I go out today?  I have been home all weekend so far, and I’m liking it.  If I go out, I have to do my hair. Sigh.  I had an appointment with my daughter on Thursday, but she “called in sick.”  Yeah.  So next week is the soonest she can do my hair.  This was supposed to be our new “weekly schedule,” and already she has flaked on me.  LOL.

But…since I’ve been doing my own hair for a while, and although it isn’t as good as hers, it will pass.  Am I in the mood, though?

Maybe I will just curl up and continue reading The Liar’s Room, by Simon Lelic.

A new spine-tingling thriller from the author of The New Neighbors that takes place over the course of a therapy session, in which neither patient nor therapist are who they claim to be.

Even though the story takes place primarily in the room, the characters’ thoughts and memories take us elsewhere, so it is not the confining tale I had imagined.  I’m loving it so far.

***

Now to decide:  go out or stay in?  They are showing encore episodes of Hallmark Mysteries…that could work, along with my book.  Maybe…

***