HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: A PLETHORA OF BOOKS — JAN. 30

Hump Day Potpourri

Here we are, midweek again!  Time to reflect and ponder what lies ahead.

When it comes to books, I am full of eagerness, optimism, and hope.  As they keep flowing into my life and my home, I am grateful when I have a place for them on a shelf.  Or on Sparky, which is where my two latest books have landed.

Out of Circulation, by Miranda James, is what’s known as a cozy mystery.  And since I’m participating in a cozy challenge, I will be able to add this one to my list.  It’s part of a series, too, but I haven’t read the previous ones, so until I do, it won’t count for my Sequel Challenge.

out

Speaking of sequels, I borrowed two books from the library yesterday that will definitely suffice for that one.

Big Cherry Holler, by Adriana Trigiani, is from the Big Stone Gap series, and is the story of a marriage, revealing the deep secrets, the power struggle, the betrayal and the unmet expectations that exist between husband and wife. It is the story of a community that must reinvent itself as it comes to grips with the decline of the coal mining industry.

52471

Now off to read more Stephanie Plum books, with Sizzling Sixteen:  the story picks up when Vinnie, of Vincent Plum Bail Bonds, has run up a gambling debt of $786,000 with mobster Bobby Sunflower and is being held until the cash can be produced. Nobody else will pay to get Vinnie back, leaving it up to Stephanie, office manager Connie, and file clerk Lula to raise the money if they want to save their jobs.

7594148

Now that I’ve added these library books to my stacks, I’m going to be conflicted about what to read next.  With review books, library books, and books I’ve purchased…what a dilemma!

Then I got a free Kindle book yesterday, but the author says to take my time to read it.  No deadlines!  Sweet words, don’t you think?

Emancipating Alice, by Ada Winder, is a literary family saga set heavily in the domestic lives of its characters. The novel can also be considered ‘hen lit’ as it follows Alice Owens, a middle-aged homemaker, on her journey to self-rediscovery.

16162841

What do you do when presented with so many choices….so many books, so little time?

4 thoughts on “HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: A PLETHORA OF BOOKS — JAN. 30

    1. Could it be too much of a good thing, Patty? Sometimes I wonder about that, but then I keep opening my arms wide for more!

      I thought the cat book above might appeal to you…and then the Big Cherry Holler book has a cat on the cover.

      Of course, not as gorgeous as Lucy!

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.