MONDAY POTPOURRI: MUSINGS — JAN. 28

musings button

Welcome to my Monday Potpourri post, in which we muse about the following:

Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.

***

Today I’m going to shout out about recent purchases, since I ignored my book buying ban (not exactly a ban, but a plan to curb the impulses) and bought two downloads for Sparky and two books from the bargain table at Barnes & Noble.

First:  I downloaded Harbinger of Evil, by Meb Bryant, because I had just interviewed the author on Dames of Dialogue, my group site, and thought it sounded good. (Check out the interview via the link!).

HarbingerOfEvil

Then I bought Thread on Arrival, by Amanda Lee, because it satisfies TWO of my 2013 Challenges:  the Cruisin’ Through the Cozies and the Sequel Challenge.

13542751

 

My next two purchases were from the bargain table…and I happen to enjoy both authors.

The Sixes, by Kate White:  a suspense novel that will keep me turning pages.

11011295

 

and Promises to Keep, by Jane Green, a promising tale with colorful characters that appeal to me, along with secrets that will change all of their lives.

7290826

 

So what are you musing about today?  Come on by and let’s chat.

 

 

16 thoughts on “MONDAY POTPOURRI: MUSINGS — JAN. 28

  1. I tried the book ban thing also, or at least I thought I would try it, but like you I see a book on a blog, and guess what I just have to have it. Next hubby likes to mall shop, so I spend my time in B & N. And for some reason I always find a book or two. What is wrong with us, it isn’t like we don’t have enough books already? ; ) Enjoy your page turners, and I see a cozy mystery among your ‘book ban’ books that sounds and looks interesting.

    Thanks for the visit today.

    Like

    1. I’m excited about new books, and when I see those covers in real life (it’s easier to turn away when they’re just online), it is difficult to resist.

      I’m thrilled about the cozy mystery, too, Gigi Ann…and thanks for visiting.

      Like

    1. Yes, your horrific vacation in hot Cancun made me laugh, too! And I know that plans to curb book buying are destined to fail. Caite, I can actually sometimes go a whole week without buying or downloading anything.

      Staying off of Amazon today! I vow….and then someone will mention a book and I have to just check it out…and you can guess what happens…lol

      Like

    1. Yes, when I buy for Sparky, I tell myself that I’m not adding to the book toppling problem I have on my shelves…and bargain table books don’t count, either…right? lol

      Thanks for visiting, Daystarz.

      Like

  2. Thanks for stopping by my Blog. Dont feel bad that you broke your ban on yourself already. I have myself on a 90 day ban and I do not think I am going to be able to keep to it. Made it 28 days so far! *keeps chanting to herself*.

    Of course I do not count the book I bought because when i first bought it was December but the seller never shipped it so I had to re-buy it in Jan…that doesnt count right?

    Like

    1. No, of course not, Ambrosia! lol

      I should know better than to make a ban that doesn’t allow for flexibility (bargain tables, etc.). Doomed to fail, right?

      Thanks for visiting…and enjoy your books1

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.