HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: REFLECTIONS…

Fifty years ago (on June 9, 1970), I was getting ready for a special party celebrating the end of the semester at Sacramento State University…and I wore those beads you see in the photo above.  As it turned out, that event would be the beginning of a completely different life for me, as I met the man who would become my second husband.

Incidentally, we were together for ten years and had two children.

When people separate and/or divorce, they often think of the relationship as a failure, and might even avoid sentimental objects.  I’m not saying it wasn’t difficult to end a relationship like the one I had, but I have maintained positive feelings about that time in my life…and the treasured moments we shared.  Not to mention the children.

The photo below was taken in December of 1970, and shows my surroundings at that time:  colorful, youthful posters, and a hairstyle that was reminiscent of the times a la Mary Tyler Moore.  LOL.

Those years were unique, since the 70s were all about changing the way we saw ourselves and the world in which we lived.  Protests, antiwar sentiment, and shortly thereafter, the impeachment of President Nixon (1974).

We were all passionate about our beliefs, not to mention the styles we chose, which conveyed our individuality in new ways.

Below, we enjoyed traveling throughout California in our trusty VW bus. The photo below was taken just outside a home in Auburn, California, where we liked to visit family.

Nowadays, I feel a deep emotional connection to those times, especially when I reflect on the bitterness and anger that seem to seep into every moment of our lives.  Change is on the horizon, and we hope that we can turn the corner and move into a more positive era.  But until that happens, if it does, I will cling to the feelings of a more hopeful time in my life.

The beads hanging on my jelly cupboard have followed me from place to place, serving as a touchstone of a life and time that launched a value system.

***

Do you reflect on the past during troubled times?  Does the past offer hope?

***

4 thoughts on “HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: REFLECTIONS…

  1. Oh yes, for a minute I thought that was Mary Tyler Moore. I think its great to remember the good times from the past. And accept what didn’t work out but was still fruitful. I don’t know what will happen for the next 4 years for USA. but I am wishing for the very best. I guess what we have to do is hope and respond in the best way we can to whatever. Fingers crossed!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When 2016 happened, I was seriously considering going to Canada! But it’s not so easy to go there anymore, and especially nowadays. LOL. Nobody wants virus-ridden Americans!

      I don’t even want to consider a reelection of that mentally ill criminal…but, he has ways to steal things that don’t belong to him, even elections.

      Thanks for visiting, Kathryn, and I’m glad for blogging, reading, and connecting to others online! Have a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Diane

    Sharing memories are always great. My 50 year out of high school anniversary will soon be here. So many great memories of weekends at the beach, bus trips with friends, concerts etc.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.