TUESDAY POTPOURRI: “VIVIAN IN RED”

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by The Purple Booker.

Today’s feature is from an author I enjoy:  Vivian in Red (e-book), by Kristina Riggle, a sweeping love story, family mystery and historical drama set eighty years apart, Vivian in Red will swell your heart like a favorite song while illuminating Broadway like you’ve never seen before.

 

 

 

 

 

Intro:  (Milo)

She called me a vine; said I twisted into all her spaces, wrapped around all her branches.  I remember she was missing one round-toe-shoe, which made her stand at an odd, broken angle.  Her hat was twisted into a ball of felt in her hand.  She’d torn the hat from her head, turning her neat curls into a spray of hair something like a halo.

She said that to me, then she was gone out of my life, and for half a century I’d forgotten her, same as I’d forgotten the name of my Hebrew school rabbi and the minute details of what my father had really looked like.

Until yesterday, my God.

***

Teaser:  (Boston, 1935)

Milo tuned him out, trying to get back those last seconds when everything was sharp and bright like sun through crystal, and all his fear had fallen away, if only long enough to savor that, for the first time, everything made a kind of sense. (48%).

***

Synopsis:  Famed Broadway producer Milo Short may be eighty-eight but that doesn’t stop him from going to the office every day. So when he steps out of his Upper West Side brownstone on one exceptionally hot morning, he’s not expecting to see the impossible: a woman from his life sixty years ago, cherry red lips, bright red hat, winking at him on a New York sidewalk, looking just as beautiful as she did back in 1934.

The sight causes him to suffer a stroke. And when he comes to, the renowned lyricist discovers he has lost the ability to communicate. Milo believes he must unravel his complicated history with Vivian Adair in order to win back his words. But he needs help—in the form of his granddaughter Eleanor—failed journalist and family misfit. Tapped to write her grandfather’s definitive biography, Eleanor must dig into Milo’s colorful past to discover the real story behind Milo’s greatest song Love Me, I Guess, and the mysterious woman who inspired an amazing life.

***

Would you keep reading?  Do the excerpts grab you?

***

48 thoughts on “TUESDAY POTPOURRI: “VIVIAN IN RED”

    1. Thanks, Candace, I have loved this author since the first of her books that I read (Keepsake), about a woman who hoards her precious mementos…until they take over her life.

      Enjoy your reading!

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.