Monday Potpourri

MONDAY POTPOURRI: DREAMING OF THE BEACH….

After my weekend at the beach for my daughter’s wedding, I started remembering other beach getaways, like this one (above) last summer.  My youngest son and his wife have been living there in the far north for almost three years, and now are on their third residence.  The most recent one is a cottage a block away from the beach.  Quaint, but cozy, I am feeling it, and planning my own trip up north. 

In this view, we can see a cozy living room, with a glimpse of the kitchen on the right.  They always seem to pick houses with nice big kitchens.

 

***

Another view of the kitchen:

 

***

Their guest room is now in use, but soon it will be available, I’m told.  I don’t think I want to go until summer, however, since then I will be eager to escape the burning hot Central Valley sun.

***

 

Meanwhile, I am reading away, sometimes beach books, but today I’m just beginning A Separation (e-book), by Katie Kitamura.

 

***

This is her story. About the end of her marriage. About what happened when Christopher went missing and she went to find him. These are her secrets, this is what happened…

A young woman has agreed with her faithless husband: it’s time for them to separate. For the moment it’s a private matter, a secret between the two of them. As she begins her new life, she gets word that Christopher has gone missing in a remote region in the rugged south of Greece; she reluctantly agrees to go look for him, still keeping their split to herself. In her heart, she’s not even sure if she wants to find him. As her search comes to a shocking breaking point, she discovers she understands less than she thought she did about her relationship and the man she used to love.

***

The writing style of the author is a bit confusing, since she doesn’t seem to use quotation marks for dialogue.  But I’m getting used to it.

***

What are planning/reading on this Monday?

***

8 thoughts on “MONDAY POTPOURRI: DREAMING OF THE BEACH….”

    1. Thanks, Patty, I think I’ll take the train this time. Fiona didn’t like her trip on the train, because part of the way the passengers switch to the Amtrak bus….but I’m good with that. I will take my Kindle.

      I love Nancy Thayer’s beach books!

      Like

  1. I’m always surprised at how strange writing styles quickly become readable but I do wonder why some authors choose not to use correct grammar – the premise sounds good too.
    I do hope you enjoy your summer retreat – that cottage looks lovely and it’ll be good to be by the sea in the summer (although I’m lucky and by the sea come rain or shine)

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

