COZY WEEKEND POTPOURRI: DEVICES

PicMonkey Collage-cozy weekend moments

 

My mornings usually involve lots of coffee, visiting blogs, and creating new photos that spotlight the cozy moments in my life.

This past week, I finally replaced the old cordless phone/answering machine system (FOR THE NEW ONE, see above right).  It sits on its charger at night on this rolltop desk, where I pay the few bills that I don’t handle online.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Sadly, this phone (above), which served me well, was chipped…and worst of all, there was static on my calls.  So it had to be done! 

Finding a new phone involved lots of visits to Amazon pages, Best Buy, and then finally, I found the new one at Target.  I don’t think it’s as nice as the Panasonic I found on Amazon, but that one had two handsets, which I don’t need.

And then I struggled for a couple of days, adding phone numbers to the Directory.  It took a while to maneuver…again, not as user-friendly as my old Panasonic.

Now it’s done.

And I can move on, hopefully to a few more years before I have to replace it.

 

71qAP-cEGcL._SL1500_

Speaking of devices that serve us (or no longer do!), I had a few panicky moments with the ATT receiver in my bedroom.  It froze while on the DVR…and then went to snowy screen.  I haven’t had that happen in years!

I did the usual trouble-shooting, and even called ATT.  They were scheduled to come out, but then, in desperation, I unplugged the receiver from the outlet, replugged it, and voila!  It was back in business.

This might be a temporary fix.  But for now, we’re good.

I have been considering the wireless receivers, but how would we reboot them?

I don’t love having devices rule my life.  That’s how it feels, anyway.  Even Sparky, my beloved Kindle, is part of the system of DEVICES.  And because I have had it for four years, should I be worried?

Life was simpler back in the day.  But it wasn’t as much fun…or maybe, from the perspective of this new digital age, it only seems so.

What do you think?  Do devices rule your life?  Or do they add something special?

***

4 thoughts on “COZY WEEKEND POTPOURRI: DEVICES

    1. I don’t think I’m ready for that yet! In addition to the cordless I just replaced, I have some designer phones from the 80s and 90s that I still love…one is like a pay phone, another is Minnie Mouse, and finally…Winnie the Pooh.

      Yes, hopelessly devoted! LOL

      Thanks for stopping by, Mom.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.