THURSDAY POTPOURRI: WHIMSICAL THOUGHTS

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some days, like today, I feel like treating myself to coffee in my Country Roses cup and saucer. 

Except that the first thing I did after taking my first sip…was to spill it!  And then I had to promptly wash the stain out of the place mat!  I am not created for elegance…LOL.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I do like to PRETEND that I can be elegant.  Otherwise, these lovely dishes would sit in the cupboard, seemingly abandoned.  I enjoy serving food for company on them…and have actually done so, like here:

 

1950 cropped

 

It was a festive occasion, and the food was take-out from a nice neighborhood restaurant (I am not fond of cooking!  lol).  But I do enjoy serving food on my favorite china.

Most of the time, however, my Apple dinnerware from Franciscan works for me.

 

franciscan_apple_china_apple_backstamp_49_piece_set_P0000245015S0142T2

My favorites are the mugs…nice and big.  Not pictured in the photo above:

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Why am I showcasing such whimsical images today?  I am feeling blissful.  The heavy cloak of despair created by the government shutdown and gloomy debt ceiling…is over.  For now, anyway.

I wonder if the politicians would be so easily caught up in these battles if their livelihoods were affected?  Just curious.

 

 

4 thoughts on “THURSDAY POTPOURRI: WHIMSICAL THOUGHTS

    1. I cook for myself and grandkids…not for special guests…although I have been known to do so, back in the day. The kitchen here is a tiny galley style space, and I had to add a rolling cart to get extra workspace and cabinet space. I HATE this kitchen…but not enough to move to another place. I hate moving even more, Patty.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.