Thursday Potpourri

THURSDAY POTPOURRI: WHIMSICAL THOUGHTS

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some days, like today, I feel like treating myself to coffee in my Country Roses cup and saucer. 

Except that the first thing I did after taking my first sip…was to spill it!  And then I had to promptly wash the stain out of the place mat!  I am not created for elegance…LOL.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I do like to PRETEND that I can be elegant.  Otherwise, these lovely dishes would sit in the cupboard, seemingly abandoned.  I enjoy serving food for company on them…and have actually done so, like here:

 

1950 cropped

 

It was a festive occasion, and the food was take-out from a nice neighborhood restaurant (I am not fond of cooking!  lol).  But I do enjoy serving food on my favorite china.

Most of the time, however, my Apple dinnerware from Franciscan works for me.

 

franciscan_apple_china_apple_backstamp_49_piece_set_P0000245015S0142T2

My favorites are the mugs…nice and big.  Not pictured in the photo above:

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Why am I showcasing such whimsical images today?  I am feeling blissful.  The heavy cloak of despair created by the government shutdown and gloomy debt ceiling…is over.  For now, anyway.

I wonder if the politicians would be so easily caught up in these battles if their livelihoods were affected?  Just curious.

 

 

4 thoughts on “THURSDAY POTPOURRI: WHIMSICAL THOUGHTS”

    1. I cook for myself and grandkids…not for special guests…although I have been known to do so, back in the day. The kitchen here is a tiny galley style space, and I had to add a rolling cart to get extra workspace and cabinet space. I HATE this kitchen…but not enough to move to another place. I hate moving even more, Patty.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

