HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: A MIDWEEK CELEBRATION — JULY 3

logo

It’s Wednesday, and you know what that means!  It’s time for Hump Day Potpourri:  our midweek celebration of bookish tidbits, treasures, and obsessions.

Earlier this week, I brought my laptop out to my little area by the bookshelves where I’ve rearranged things a bit.  From the pub table vantage point for Louisa May (my laptop)….

laptop on pub table

to my drop leaf table in the very same spot:

changes

Or TV viewing online with this setup:

viewing

Today I’m also excited about more Amazon Vine books heading my way.  Thanks to Patty, I’ve discovered how to plumb the depths of the newsletter via Last Harvest.

Later this week I should receive Sisterland, by Curtis Sittenfeld.  I enjoyed American Wife by this author.

16099180

Here’s a tease:  From an early age, Kate and her identical twin sister, Violet, knew that they were unlike everyone else. Kate and Vi were born with peculiar “senses”—innate psychic abilities concerning future events and other people’s secrets. Though Vi embraced her visions, Kate did her best to hide them.

Now, years later, their different paths have led them both back to their hometown of St. Louis. Vi has pursued an eccentric career as a psychic medium, while Kate, a devoted wife and mother, has settled down in the suburbs to raise her two young children. But when a minor earthquake hits in the middle of the night, the normal life Kate has always wished for begins to shift. After Vi goes on television to share a premonition that another, more devastating earthquake will soon hit the St. Louis area, Kate is mortified. Equally troubling, however, is her fear that Vi may be right. As the date of the predicted earthquake quickly approaches, Kate is forced to reconcile her fraught relationship with her sister and to face truths about herself she’s long tried to deny.

***

And from another author I’ve read:  Something About Sophie, by Mary Kay McComas

15818324

A tidbit:  Answering a call that summons her to a stranger’s deathbed, a reluctant Sophie Shepard is too late to hear what he was so anxious to tell her. What was so important that a dying man would think of her in his final moments? With the help of Dr. Drew McCarren, Sophie begins to dig into her past, setting off a chain of events that chills the quiet town of Clearfield, Virginia to its roots.

***

What does your day look like today?  Anything bookish that is delighting you?  I also shared about a book I’m eagerly awaiting at Hump Day Sparks.

sparks-button

Waiting for Wednesday, No. 3 in the Frieda Klein mystery series.

17869213

HAPPY FOURTH OF JULY!!!

sparks Wallpaper__yvt2

2 thoughts on “HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: A MIDWEEK CELEBRATION — JULY 3

  1. Patty

    OMG…have I given you even more of my bad habits! I am falling off of my chair laughing over your shout out… Now if I can only get you to join NetGalley and Edelweiss…and go to BEA with me…I will feel fulfilled!

    Don’t forget to check Last Harvest regularly…they don’t tell you when they add new books!

    Like

    1. Yes, Patty, you are the kind of influence my best friend in college was….someone who made me push the envelope a bit.

      One of my goals is to make it to BEA while it is in New York (it has been for four years now!). I went in LA, but was at the event alone. I drove down with my son and his wife, but during the day I was solo.

      As for NetGalley….I couldn’t manage to make that work for me, so I should leave well enough alone…lol

      I’m off to check Last Harvest again!

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.