HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: A BOOKISH WEEK…

Today I’m participating in Sam’s WWW Wednesdays Here’s how it works:

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next, and/or what are you eagerly awaiting?

***

Currently Reading:  My Absolute Darling, by Gabriel Tallent

Shot through with striking language in a fierce natural setting, My Absolute Darling is an urgently told, profoundly moving read that marks the debut of an extraordinary new writer.

The father is horrifying, and with every page I read, I am rooting for the girl’s escape.

***

BOOKS FINISHED SINCE LAST WEEK:  (Titles/Covers Linked to My Reviews)

An American Marriage, by Tayari Jones

Sunburn, by Laura Lippman

Alternate Side, by Anna Quindlen

***

EAGERLY ANTICIPATING:

Sometimes I Lie (e-book), by Alice Feeney, is one of my newest books, and I am eager to read it.

Synopsis:   My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me:
1. I’m in a coma.
2. My husband doesn’t love me anymore.
3. Sometimes I lie.

Amber wakes up in a hospital. She can’t move. She can’t speak. She can’t open her eyes. She can hear everyone around her, but they have no idea. Amber doesn’t remember what happened, but she has a suspicion her husband had something to do with it. Alternating between her paralyzed present, the week before her accident, and a series of childhood diaries from twenty years ago, this brilliant psychological thriller asks: Is something really a lie if you believe it’s the truth?

***

This was my week so far….what does yours look like?

***

31 thoughts on “HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: A BOOKISH WEEK…

  1. boyishbookworm

    It is a terrifying thing being conscious but not being able to move (sometimes I have sleep paralysis so I’ve experienced it before). It is one of my biggest fears ending up in a coma like that. I’m curious how the protagonist deals with the situation in Sometimes I Lie…. I’ll be interested in reading your opinion about the book. Happy reading!

    Ronnie @ Paradise Found

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.