TUESDAY POTPOURRI: CELEBRATING WITH BOOKS…AND A MARTINI?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Good morning!  It is almost February, and here I sit, having awakened early enough to write my review of The Dry (click!); add some new books to my stacks (more about those tomorrow); and participate in the Tuesday Excerpts event.

I hope to soon read some of the books shown in the photo above…maybe in February. 

Today I’ll be running some end-of-the-month errands, including picking up some meds at Kaiser, where I hope to time it just right to avoid the sometimes lengthy lines.

My cold seems to be dying…or dead.  I am at the point where my constant allergies are still here, of course, and they resemble the cold in some ways.  But I slept last night…really well.  And didn’t wake up with the breathing challenges I have faced this past week.

Could I celebrate?

 

pea-soup-margarita-nov-12

***

I just started reading a very quirky book called Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk, by Kathleen Rooney.

 

 

lillian-boxfish-takes-a-walk***

She’s the perfect quirky character for this blog.  I love this excerpt: 

A love letter to city life in all its guts and grandeur, Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk by Kathleen Rooney paints a portrait of a remarkable woman across the canvas of a changing America: from the Jazz Age to the onset of the AIDS epidemic; the Great Depression to the birth of hip-hop.

Lillian figures she might as well take her time. For now, after all, the night is still young.

***

How are you celebrating the end of the month?  What lovely books await you on your stacks?

***

4 thoughts on “TUESDAY POTPOURRI: CELEBRATING WITH BOOKS…AND A MARTINI?

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.