HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: RAIN, READING, & BLOG DIFFICULTIES

rainy-day

It has been raining most of the week.  I found this “rainy day” image appropriate for my “rainysnowday” blog (URL for Potpourri, of course).

The rain last night was pounding so loud that it woke me up!  I had been reading and watching TV very late (watched my recording of This Is Us), so I fell asleep on the couch.  I had also been reading The Other Widow, which is hard to put down.

 

the-other-widow

 

Yes, I have a TV in my bedroom…but I don’t really like reading there.  Despite my various pillows, it isn’t that comfy.

 

June 3 bedroom changes - 1

***

Yesterday, I discovered that Word Press has tried to foil us again, making it impossible to go through that “back door” to the dashboard to write a post.  Rats!  But then I discovered that when I put in the name of the blog for my browser, the dashboard shows up below it (since it gives us recent places we’ve visited), and I copied down the dashboard URL for future reference, and then tried it…and voila!  I got in!

Shhh…don’t tell those folks at WP, who are constantly trying to lure us to the “new and improved” way of posting.  If only it were “improved”!

***

I discovered an upcoming release that  went on my list immediately, since the author’s previous book was a win for me.  The Breakdown,  by B. A. Paris (of Behind Closed Doors), is coming on June 20, 2017.

 

 

break-down

***

If you can’t trust yourself, who can you trust?

Cass is having a hard time since the night she saw the car in the woods, on the winding rural road, in the middle of a downpour, with the woman sitting inside—the woman who was killed. She’s been trying to put the crime out of her mind; what could she have done, really? It’s a dangerous road to be on in the middle of a storm. Her husband would be furious if he knew she’d broken her promise not to take that shortcut home. And she probably would only have been hurt herself if she’d stopped.

But since then, she’s been forgetting every little thing: where she left the car, if she took her pills, the alarm code, why she ordered a pram when she doesn’t have a baby.

The only thing she can’t forget is that woman, the woman she might have saved, and the terrible nagging guilt.

Or the silent calls she’s receiving, or the feeling that someone’s watching her…

***

What do you think?  Would you keep reading?

***

Remember how I was organizing my files, alphabetizing my images?  Well, that has worked out well.  However…I inadvertently deleted some files I still needed…and spent a lot of time restoring them!  Some times I think I should leave well enough alone.

But I do love being able to find my images more easily!

***

What does your Hump Day look like?  Reading exciting thrillers?  Binge-watching something?

***

11 thoughts on “HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: RAIN, READING, & BLOG DIFFICULTIES

  1. I don’t like the new posting dashboard; I always use the old one. WP always opens to my Reader. I click on my My Site up at top and then scroll down to WP Admin ; that opens up the old dashboard. I miss having a TV in our bedroom. Husband always watches stuff on his laptop so I’m out there in the dining area.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, good to know there is another back door in, Stefanie. I wonder why WP seems to insist on making our lives difficult!

      I love having a TV in the bedroom; I’ve had one for years. But I’ve been single for many years, too, so that probably explains it. LOL. Thanks for visiting.

      Like

    1. Thanks for visiting, Kathryn, and yes, it was a big chore once the images were all there, willy nilly. But now that I’m doing it, I “name” them alphabetically while I’m saving them. And there they are.

      Too bad I didn’t think of it before they were all spread out all over the place…LOL.

      As for WP, if I didn’t like a lot of other things about the site, I would quit them…but I do mostly like it here. And…some of us WP bloggers found another way into the dashboard (thanks, Mary and Stefanie!). Go through Reader, click on My Sites (next to that title), and scroll down to WP Admin. Yay!

      Like

  2. Pingback: WEEKLY UPDATES: A RAINY WEEK…. | RAINY DAYS AND MONDAYS

  3. I use the old WP dashboard, too, but am still missing some of the edit buttons that used to be standard issue. They changed it while I was away! The images being all piled in together doesn’t bother me too much because the search feature still works pretty well for me. But I’m in the habit of naming the images as I save them in the Media Library, so I can see if they were just the original image file names it would be hard to find what you’re looking for!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, sometimes it is hard to find the images in the Media Library. As for the images I was organizing, they were the ones in my Windows Picture Gallery, and if I had named them properly from the start, I could have avoided the dilemma.

      Thanks for stopping by, Laurie…

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.