FRIDAY POTPOURRI: BOOK BEGINNINGS & THE FRIDAY 56 — APRIL 6

Welcome to a potpourri of fun today as we share Book Beginnings, hosted by Rose City Reader; and as we showcase The Friday 56 with Freda’s Voice.

To join in, just grab a book and share the opening lines…along with any thoughts you wish to give us; then turn to page 56 and excerpt anything on the page.

Then give us the title of the book, so others can add it to their lists!

Today I’m excerpting from a book from next week’s list:  A Silence of Mockingbirds, by Karen Spears Zacharias.

Amazon Description:  This is not a simple love story. It is the troubling tale of a father’s love for the daughter he was unable to protect.  Investigative journalist and author Karen Spears Zacharias never anticipated that she would become one of the characters involved in a high-profile murder. But when she reconnects with a young woman named Sarah, who lived in the Zacharias home at one time and was treated like family, Karen discovers that something unspeakable has happened to Sarah’s daughter, Karly. Compelled to consider her own culpability in this tragic case, Karen pieces together what happened to Karly through court documents, investigators’ interviews, and interviews with friends, family, law enforcement officials, and key witnesses.

***

Beginning:  The envelope on my desk is addressed to Inmate 16002306.  Inside is a letter of request.  It is not the first one I’ve sent, and I don’t expect it will be the last.  I am tempted to mail one every day until I get what I want:  a face-to-face interview.

While this opener may not be the most exciting one I’ve read, I also see in it the determination the narrator will need in order to achieve her goals.  I like that.

***

P. 56:  David’s sky-blue eyes grew misty several times during our visit as he spoke of Karly.  He recalled that he took his daughter to Ireland twice during her brief life.

***

I know that this story is going to be a sad one; I can feel my eyes misting up just reading this excerpt.

 

What are the rest of you excerpting?  I missed last week, caught up as I was in Bloggiesta; I’m looking forward to seeing what you’re sharing today.

 

26 thoughts on “FRIDAY POTPOURRI: BOOK BEGINNINGS & THE FRIDAY 56 — APRIL 6

  1. Hi Laurel-Rain,

    Your first few lines are intriguing and would make me want to read on if that was all I had to go by. By the time I got to page 56 I would probably be getting quite emotional about the whole thing … However, armed with the knowledge that this is a memoir, it would definitely remain firmly on the shelves in the bookstore I’m afraid, as memoirs are a genre that I seldom, if ever, read.

    I hope that you enjoy your book though, it wouldn’t do for us all to enjoy the same thing, and that you have a very Happy Easter,

    Yvonne

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.