MONDAY POTPOURRI: MUSINGS — FEB. 27

Welcome to Monday Potpourri, my place to celebrate Musing Mondays, hosted by Should Be Reading.

Today’s prompt:

• Do you read books that are part of a series?
• Do you collect all the books in the series before starting? What if the series is brand new, and the only book that’s been published so far is Book One? As subsequent books in the series are published, do you go back and re-read the preceding books?

I do enjoy books in a series.  Some of my favorites are mysteries, like Sue Grafton’s Alphabet Series; or the V. I. Warshawski series by Sara Paretsky.

I started reading the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich, and recently read the first one because it was released as a movie.  One for the Money was a fun read.  (Click title for review).

 

So…I don’t read them in order, necessarily, since I often discover a more current book in the series and grab that one first.

I still haven’t read all of the Plum books:  I read Eleven on Top first, followed by Finger Lickin’ Fifteen, and then looped back to number one.

This week I read Started Early, Took My Dog, by Kate Atkinson, and I definitely didn’t read that series in order. (Click title for my review).

The other books in this series featuring a detective named Jackson Brodie are Case Histories, One Good Turn, and When Will There Be Good News?

Once I’ve begun a series out of order, I don’t go back and reread the earlier ones.  If I’ve missed one, however, I will go back.

I don’t wait for the whole collection before reading.  I just plunge in…and grab the others when I can.

I’m very happy that I’m now reviewing books, because I can check back on those previous books for details I may have forgotten.

What about you?  Do you enjoy a good series?  Which ones do you collect?

 

18 thoughts on “MONDAY POTPOURRI: MUSINGS — FEB. 27

  1. If I like a series I will read more books in it. Like you, sometimes they are not read in the order written. I have read most of Sue Graftons A-Z books, but I tired of Janet Evanovich’s Plum series, so no longer read it. I have a few of Janet’s Plum series on audio I may listen to someday, however, I’m in no rush to listen to them. I have never read them in order.

    Thanks for your visit today.

    Like

  2. I’ve found that I’m reading more again lately than I was and many of the books I want to read are already several books into the series. So, if it looks like something I’d be interested in, I start with book #1. If I like it, I continue on (Judy Christie’s Green series is an example of one I really like). If I don’t like it, I stop after reading the first one.

    Thanks for dropping by!

    Like

  3. I just read ‘Started Early, Took My Dog’ too! it was the first in the series that I had read and liked it a great deal. In fact, I think I have another in the series around here somewhere..so I may end up reading them all, but certainly not in order. and with a good author, that should not be a problem.

    Like

  4. Hi! Thanks for dropping by my blog!

    Very interesting answer. I like reading detective series like Miss Marple or Poirot. But those can also be read as stand alones. It’s okay even if haven’t read any of the other books. Interlinked books that cannot be read on its own don’t interest me much.

    Like

  5. cathy

    I don’t think I could read out of order, but then again the books I read if you don’t read in order you are lost. Those are some cute covers makes me want to check them out. Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.