TEASER TUESDAYS — NOV. 16

 

Good morning, and welcome to Teaser Tuesdays, hosted by Should Be Reading.  This is our special time and place to share excerpts from our current reads.

Here’s how it works:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Today I’m sharing from a book that has been calling to me for awhile. Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, by Tom Franklin, is a tale of two very different young men who were boyhood friends.  And then tragedy struck.  Now twenty years later, they meet again….

 

Teaser:  He didn’t know if ten minutes had passed or an hour, had no idea how far he’d gone, and was starting to feel panicky when someone pulled him behind a pair of metal garbage cans, his backpack stripped away and his coat wrenched off, somebody’s hand in his pants pockets, taking his pocketknife, his forty cents.  He tried to yell but another hand clamped over his mouth and somebody was pulling his Nikes off. p. 134

(This excerpt is from the ARC of this book)

When I read these two sentences (yes, there are really only two), I thought how captivating this passage was.  How totally hooked I now am.

What did you find in your books?  I hope you’ll come on over and tempt me….

38 thoughts on “TEASER TUESDAYS — NOV. 16

  1. Hi Lorraine,

    Some great teaser lines, I just had to know more, so checked out the full blurb on Amazon.

    This sounds like a great read, right up my street, yet another for my ‘wish list’ …

    I also checked out your main site, as your name as an author is not one I am familiar with, here in the UK.

    The books sound great, more for the wishlist and an author to add to my directory.

    Keep up the great work

    Yvonne

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Yvonne…I’m glad you checked out my site. I think the books are available on Amazon UK, or at least they were the last time I checked! But they’re also available on my website.

      I am excited about reading this book.

      Like

  2. Josie

    Ooh, poor him… sounds like he has a long way to go in quite a few ways. I hope you enjoy the book.

    I’m enjoying your ‘quirky blog’! It’s fun to have such a mix.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.