TUESDAY POTPOURRI: BOOKS, ATTITUDES, & ACCEPTANCE…

It is Time!  Time to enjoy Tuesday Book Releases.  I already discovered one to download at Mary’s Book Fan.  Thanks, Mary!

Just Between Us, by Rebecca Drake, is a book about friends…and what some might do to protect another.

Four suburban mothers conspire to cover up a deadly crime in Just Between Us, a heart-stopping novel of suspense by Rebecca Drake.

***

Later today, I will get my lovely e-mail telling me about other books being released today.  It is something I always look forward to…and yes, I have enough books on my TBR to keep me busy until…the End of Time?

Meanwhile, I am loving my current read:  I’m almost finished with Jane Fonda:  The Private Life of a Public Woman, by Patricia Bosworth.  The book is long, and except for the beginning, with moments between Henry Fonda and his wives and Jane’s infancy and childhood, it has been unputdownable. 

I’ve read a couple of Jane’s memoirs, and learned a lot about her life back in the day…but in this book, there are events and moments that I hadn’t known.  I’ve also found myself renting Amazon Prime videos of Jane’s early movies, like Klute and Sunday in New York.  Next will be Barefoot in the Park, which I haven’t seen in a while.

What I enjoy most about Jane is how she has had several incarnations…which I can relate to.  When we’ve lived for many years, we can look back and see our lives in the past as separate, almost.  Like we were different people.  Different versions of ourselves. 

Currently, I love the version of Jane that brings us Grace and Frankie, on Netflix.  Or her movie with Robert Redford on Netflix, Our Souls at Night.

***

On Facebook, I had posted a photo of my books, one of which was the Jane Fonda book, and someone commented that Jane (in her Tom Hayden years) had “ruined” Santa Monica.  I felt myself prickling, as this judgmental attitude made many of us, back in the day, feel misunderstood…and separate from those who did not share our views.

Sort of like we now feel from others if we are not fans of the guy in the White House. 

When that happens, I just shrug and remind myself that everyone has a different perspective, and we don’t need their approval and they do not need ours.  To feel supported, we gravitate toward others who share our views.

***

So…what does your Tuesday look like?  Are you eager to download new books?  Do you find judgmental comments appalling?

***

6 thoughts on “TUESDAY POTPOURRI: BOOKS, ATTITUDES, & ACCEPTANCE…

  1. Patty

    I truly do not like judgmental comments or mean ones either. I try so hard to be accepting and have an open mind. I really need to get that book that Mary loved…Just Between Us…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like Jane Fonda although I don’t know all her movies as you do. I do intend though to watch Grace and Frankie soon. I hate judgemental too, although I can find myself doing that every so often and its so…. bad.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Kathryn, and while I don’t agree with everything Jane has done, I have always admired her passions.

      As for the judgmental comment, the worst thing about it was that it came from a relative. I have found many of my relatives disapprove of my belief systems, which hurts more than when strangers do it.

      Like

  3. I don’t give much emotional energy to opinionated people (on all sides of a topic). I try to be respectful of others and keep moving forward. I think there’s a lot of disagreement among family members these days so I don’t find your experience unusual. I hope you enjoy Just Between Us. I liked it for the entertainment value because I don’t read many thrillers. I’ll be interested in your thoughts on it. Thanks for the shout out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Mary, I loved your spotlight of Just Between Us so much that I had to download the book.

      As for opinionated people, I love what you said about not giving emotional energy to such people, and that even when our families are disagreeing, we can somehow move beyond it. I hope that is true, as some family members treat the disagreement as evidence of betrayal…LOL.

      Enjoy your day and your week!

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.