TUESDAY POTPOURRI: INTROS/TEASERS – “LILLIAN ON LIFE”

y8ekqo13031746531

 

1940s-raine-framed-memes-teaser-tuesday

 

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, from Tuesday/First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by Should Be Reading.

Today’s featured book is an ARC, entitled Lillian on Life, by Alison Jean Lester.

 

 

20783867

 

Intro:  Whenever I wake up next to a man, before I’m fully awake, I think it’s Ted.  Of course it never is.

That’s okay.  This morning I watched Pandora walk the length of Michael’s naked body.  His skin turned to gooseflesh as she started up his thigh.  Her pretty gray paw depressed the flesh of his belly, and his sleeping penis rolled toward his hipbone.  She stepped off him at the shoulder.  She could have walked on the bed; there was a little space between him and me.  Maybe he doesn’t exist for her.  Maybe she was saying that he’s no better than a mattress.  She snuggled into my neck, purring smugly like an idling Jaguar.

***

Teaser:  Where’d I put the crossword puzzle?  I thought I’d finish it while I ate, but I couldn’t find it, not the one I was working on anyway.  Where is it?  God.  It’s always like this.  Stupid, Lillian.  Stupid.  Think.  Focus. (p. 17).

***

Blurb:  This is the story of Lillian, a single woman reflecting on her choices and imagining her future.  Born in the Midwest in the 1930s; Lillian lives, loves, and works in Europe in the fifties and early sixties; she settles in New York and pursues the great love of her life in the sixties and seventies. Now it’s the early nineties, and she’s taking stock. Throughout her life, walking the unpaved road between traditional and modern choices for women, Lillian grapples with parental disappointment and societal expectations, wins and loses in love, and develops her own brand of wisdom. Lillian on Life lifts the skin off the beautiful, stylish product of an era to reveal the confused, hot-blooded woman underneath.

***

What do you think?  Do the excerpts make you want to keep reading?

***

22 thoughts on “TUESDAY POTPOURRI: INTROS/TEASERS – “LILLIAN ON LIFE”

  1. I like the writing style very much and the intro has be extra curious.

    It made me think of my senior cat . . . He would never walk on a naked body. He won’t even sit on my lap if I’m wearing shorts unless I cover my legs with a blanket or towel.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.