TUESDAY POTPOURRI: INTROS/TEASERS – “THE CORN MAIDEN”

y8ekqo13031746531

 

1940s-raine-framed-memes-teaser-tuesday

 

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, from Tuesday/First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by Should Be Reading.

Today I’d like to share excerpts from a book that has been waiting rather impatiently for me to get to it:  The Corn Maiden (and Other Nightmares), by Joyce Carol Oates, is a book I purchased three years ago!  It is a collection of seven short stories, tales of suspense, “that will keep you riveted to the page.”

 

 

3306

 

Intro:  (From the story “The Corn Maiden:  A Love Story”)

April:  You Assholes!

Whywhy you’re asking here’s why her hair.

I mean her hair!  I mean like I saw it in the sun it’s pale silky gold like corn tassels and in the sun sparks might catch.  And her eyes that smiled at me sort of nervous and hopeful like she could not know (but who could know?) what is Jude’s wish.  For I am Jude the obscure, I am the Master of Eyes.  I am not to be judged by crude eyes like yours, assholes.

There was her mother.  I saw them together.  I saw the mother stoop to kiss her.  That arrow entered my heart.  I thought I will make you see me.  I would not forgive.

***

Teaser:  The Corn Maiden had never been to Jude’s house before.  But Jude was friendly to her beginning back in March.  Told us the Master of Eyes had granted her a wish on her birthday.  And we were counted in that wish. (p. 4).

***

Blurb:  “The Corn Maiden” is the gut-wrenching story of Marissa, a beautiful and sweet eleven-year-old girl with hair the color of corn silk. Taken by an older girl from her school who has told two friends in her thrall of the Indian legend of the Corn Maiden, in which a girl is sacrificed to ensure a good crop, Marissa is kept in a secluded basement and convinced that the world has ended. Marissa’s seemingly inevitable fate becomes ever more terrifying as the older girl relishes her power, giving the tale unbearable tension with a shocking conclusion. In “Helping Hands,” published here for the first time, a lonely woman meets a man in the unlikely clutter of a dingy charity shop and extends friendship. She has no idea what kinds of doors she may be opening. The powerful stories in this extraordinary collection further enhance Joyce Carol Oates’s standing as one of the world’s greatest writers of suspense.

***

What do you think?  I am definitely not sure about this collection, hence the long period of time I waited before picking it up to read.  I have had a precarious relationship with this author’s works.  When I love one of her books or collections, I am enthralled.  When I do not connect with the stories or characters, I am sitting there going “huh?”

I don’t know which one this will be.  Have any of you read this?  Any thoughts?

***

52 thoughts on “TUESDAY POTPOURRI: INTROS/TEASERS – “THE CORN MAIDEN”

  1. Patty

    I am just not a fan of story collections…and there’s a reason why you haven’t read it yet…your inner bookish self is telling you something!

    Like

  2. I have not read any Joyce Carol Oates, and I am not sure why. But this one sounds a bit too weirdly scary for me. A scary first paragraph at least! I think I will wait to see what you think.

    Like

  3. Literary Feline

    I’ve only read one book by this author–and I loved it. I have always hesitated to read more by her though. This sounds like an interesting collection, perfect for this time of year. I’m sorry you are not enjoying it more.

    Like

  4. I tried to read one book by this author and had to stop reading! Sounds like I should give her another try but should choose carefully. Although I sometimes enjoy short stories, this collection doesn’t sound like my kind of thing. Too creepy.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog.
    Sandy @ Texas Twang

    Like

  5. My thought as I was reading the opening was that it was a bit unsettling. It’s not something I would read because it looks too scary! But one of the things I really enjoy about the First Chapter First Paragraph Intros is getting to see what everyone is reading. Thanks for sharing your selection, and thanks for stopping by my blog today!

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.