TEASER TUESDAYS

Today we’re sharing bits and pieces of books, hosted by Should Be Reading.

Here’s how it works:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Today I’m reading The Good Daughters, by Joyce Maynard.    This is a story of “birthday sisters,” two girls born into quite different lives; the author chronicles the ways in which these girls’ lives run on parallel and intersecting paths….

Ray was seventeen at this point, washing dishes at a restaurant near our apartment, saving up for his getaway.  Rare as it was for Val to think about our futures, she worried that if he didn’t go to college, he’d be sent to Vietnam, but Ray said no way was that happening.  p.76

I’m really enjoying this story so far.  What did you all find to tease us with this week?  I hope you’ll pop in and share.

49 thoughts on “TEASER TUESDAYS

  1. “S” Is For Silence:
    During interviews early in my career, I tried using a tape recorder, but the process was awkward. It made some people self-conscious, and both of us tended to watch the tape reel going around and around, assuring each other the device was wroking.

    Like

    1. Oh, good, Patty….I’ll be curious as to what you think of it. I’m loving it, and there’s a feeling of something very dark and mysterious hovering over everything as the story moves along…I’m sure it will be revealed at or near the end. Can’t wait! I think I know what it is, but I’m not completely sure….

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.