TUESDAY POTPOURRI: RELEASES & HIT & MISS READING…

Another Tuesday has arrived!  No surprise there, they come every week.  But do I find new releases every time?  Most of the time, actually, although sometimes I just bookmark them for later.

Today I received a pre-ordered download: Never Tell, by Lisa Gardner, one of my favorite must-buy authors. brings an unpredictable thriller that puts fan favorites D.D. Warren and Flora Dane on a shocking new case that begins with a vicious murder and gets darker from there.

 

***

I have another release from today that I just bookmarked.  Will I wait a while, or will I give in?

The Next to Die, by Sophie Hannah, another favorite mystery author: a disturbing tale of psychological suspense and obsession that hits at the heart of some of our most precious relationships.

***

So far this week, my reading has been hit and miss.  I finished a book that I didn’t like (Late in the Day), and I’ll admit to a little skimming at the end since I really hated the story and the characters, some more than others.

Last night I started Come Find Me, by Megan Miranda…and I’m hopeful.  But it’s early days.

***

This post has been a challenge!  The links are showing up in the wrong places…not usually a problem.  I’ll see what happens when I check them.  Okay, all checked and all good.  But how weird!

How has your week unfolded so far?

***

 

 

TUESDAY POTPOURRI: A NEW RELEASE FROM AN OLD FAVORITE…

Tick Tock!  It’s time to check those new releases!  Another reason to love Tuesdays, a day when a lot of new books are released.

So far, I’ve downloaded one new book, but it is one I’ve been eagerly awaiting.  The Bad Daughter, by Joy Fielding, reminds me that having favorite authors for many years can be like finding a treasure with each new release.  A gripping, edge-of-your-seat thriller of family intrigue and dark secrets, from the author of Someone Is Watching and See Jane Run, (probably the first book I read by the author).

 

Synopsis:  There was no shortage of words she could use to describe her father, almost none of them complimentary. Serves you damn right, she thought.
 
A voice mail from her estranged sister, Melanie, sends Robin’s heart racing and her mind spiraling in a full-blown panic attack. Melanie’s message is dire: Their father, his second wife, and his twelve-year-old stepdaughter have been shot—likely in a home invasion—and lie in the hospital in critical condition.
           
It’s been more than five years since Robin turned her back on her father when he married her best friend. Five years since she said goodbye to her hometown of Red Bluff, California, and became a therapist. More than two years since Robin and Melanie have spoken. Yet even with all that distance and time and acrimony, the past is always with Robin.

Now she must return to the family she left behind. As she attempts to mend fences while her father clings to life, Robin begins to wonder if there is more to the tragedy than a botched burglary attempt. It seems that everyone—Robin’s mercurial sister, her less-than-communicative nephew, her absent brother, and even Tara, her father’s wife—has something to hide. And someone may have put them all in grave danger.

***

Definitely another book to enjoy!  What, if any, new releases are you eager to start reading?

***

TUESDAY POTPOURRI: TIME FOR NEW BOOKS!

The clock has struck!  It is Tuesday, New Book Release Day, and I’ve downloaded one of the books I’ve been eagerly awaiting.

 

Sunburn, by Laura Lippman:  Inspired by James M. Cain’s masterpieces The Postman Always Rings Twice, Double Indemnity, and Mildred Pierce, Sunburn is a tantalizing modern noir from the incomparable Laura Lippman.

 

New York Times bestselling author Laura Lippman returns with a superb novel of psychological suspense about a pair of lovers with the best intentions and the worst luck: two people locked in a passionate yet uncompromising game of cat and mouse. But instead of rules, this game has dark secrets, forbidden desires, inevitable betrayals—and cold-blooded murder.

One is playing a long game. But which one?

***

Sounds delicious, right?  So far, I haven’t discovered any other new releases for today, but I’m loving Look for Me, by Lisa Gardner, which I downloaded last week; a book with multiple POVs, including the voice of D. D. Warren and Flora Dane (who was a missing girl in a previous book).

***

Next I plan to start reading Blood Sisters, by Jane Corry.

From the bestselling author of My Husband’s Wife (click for my review),  a new thriller featuring three girls, one accident, and a lifetime of lies.

***

Today will be a bookish one…I may not even go out at all.  Unless the mood takes me.  What do you plan for today?  Reading?  Adventures?

***

TUESDAY POTPOURRI: NEW BOOK RELEASE TUESDAY!

It is time!  For New Tuesday Book Releases.  Yes, I am a bit obsessed with discovering what new releases I can add to my shelves.

So far today, I’ve added one.

The Wife, by Alafair Burke,  a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10—in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.

 

This one definitely caught my eye, plus I’ve read other books by the author, including some which she co-wrote with Mary Higgins Clark (The Under Suspicion Series).

Synopsis:  When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother’s home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.

Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look—at both the man she married and the women she chose not to believe.

This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke’s Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?

***

Maybe I should hope that there will be no more releases today, as I have a LOT of books calling to me.

What books are you eagerly anticipating?  Do you watch for their releases?

***