SATURDAY POTPOURRI: PLAYING…

It’s a lovely Saturday, and I’m playing around with blog headers again.  My Mickey on the right side of the header is an image I haven’t used in ages.  Normally he lives on the hearth, next to Fantasia Mickey.

***

I’ve also been watching movies on my DVR, including one from the Lifetime Channel.  I don’t often watch one of those all the way through, but this one was about a writer who is struggling to produce a new hit book…and decides to plagiarize one from a fan.  It did not end well.

I’m enjoying The Burning Girl, but I haven’t gotten very far into it…because of the movies and playing with blogs.

I just downloaded Our Souls at Night, by Kent Haruf, once I learned from Mary, at Book Fan, that the upcoming Netflix movie with Jane Fonda and Robert Redford was based on this book…and that she loved it.

***

I found out about the movie after watching an episode of Ellen, in which Jane Fonda was a guest.  I remember loving some movies with Jane and Robert back in the day, like Barefoot in the Park.  1967.

I also saw them together in The Electric Horseman (1979)

***

Do you enjoy watching old favorite stars in new movies?  Do you have some favorites…other than Jane and Paul?  LOL.

***

THURSDAY POTPOURRI: RELEASED!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Happily, I get to stay in my cozy home every day for the rest of this week, if I wish.  I did my final check-in at the Jury website, and I am “discharged.”  Released!  Yay!

I feel like those kids who get to go home from school early, or those who get a holiday from work.

All morning, I have been fiddling around, waiting for the time (11:30) when I had to check into the Jury website.  I did have to run out and do a couple of errands, and even had a cup of coffee at Barnes & Noble, with one eye on my watch the whole time.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Back home again, I’ve been plugging away on Pic Monkey, creating new headers for various blogs, and even my website.  My restless energy syndrome is alive and well….but now that I have been released, I can settle in and enjoy.

Do you hate having your routines in upheaval because of something hanging over your head?  How do you cope?

One thing I also did was go to Amazon Vine and order another book.  Yes, I had my review stack there pared down to two books, so I had to order another.

Then and Always, by Dani Atkins, is a debut novel that sounds so enticing.

 

 

71rPDx5UbXL._SL1500_

 

Blurb:  For fans of One Day, What Alice Forgot, and the hit film Sliding Doors, comes an absorbing and surprising debut novel about a young woman who, after an accident, gets a second chance at life . . . just not in one she remembers.
 
Rachel Wiltshire has everything she’s ever wanted: a close group of friends, a handsome boyfriend, and acceptance to the journalism program at her top-choice college. But one fateful evening, tragedy tears her world apart.

Five years later, Rachel returns home for the first time to celebrate her best friend’s wedding. Still coping with her grief, she can’t stop thinking about the bright future she almost had, if only that one night had gone differently. But when a sudden fall lands her in the hospital, Rachel wakes to find that her life has completely changed. Now the people she loves most are not the way she remembers them. Unable to trust her own recollections, Rachel tries to piece together what really happened, and not even she can predict the astonishing truth.

***

I’ve also downloaded four e-books already this week…I’ll be sharing more about them on Saturday.

***

THURSDAY POTPOURRI: WHEN ONE EVENT LEADS TO A FLURRY OF ACTIVITIES — SEPT. 27

Today I’m in the mood for something decadent.  But it’s only Thursday.  Shouldn’t I wait for tomorrow?  Isn’t Friday the day when we can give in to guilty pleasures?  But I started thinking about this one when I participated in a post over at Dames of Dialogue.  And then I segued into my own continuation of that post over at Chocolate & Mimosas.

That whole scenario led to a day of doing whatever I felt like….and I naturally had to create some new blog headers for a couple of my sites, like Rainy Days and Mondays.

This is the one I’m currently using, but I created a couple of spares for when I’m bored with it…lol

Since I was already on a roll, I took another look at my two writing blogs.  Yes, I have overdone it a bit.  I have a primary blog about my Creations:  Creative Journey.

And then I had created two writing journals:  Snow Chronicles and My Forest Journey.  I noticed that I hadn’t been posting in the second one all that much and had just a handful of followers.

So I moved the content to one of my pages at Snow Chronicles and merged them.  Voila!

Did I feel a momentary pang of loss?  Yes, especially when deleting the blog and Word Press said:  Are you sure?

Were they reading my mind?  But no, I went ahead.

But the fallout is always a lot of work.  Deleting the links from everywhere….and rewriting biographies that list the number of blogs or sites I have.  Thankfully, there were only a few posts at My Forest Journey and no book reviews happened at that blog.

I did love the latest blog header I had created there…sigh.

So of course I was in the mood for comfort food, after the day I had….and that led to dinner at Marie Callender’s with pot roast and pumpkin pie to take home.

 

Do you ever go on a spree of activities that started with something really minor…and found yourself way out there on a totally different path?