HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: LOVELY BOOKS…

Today I’m participating in Sam’s WWW Wednesdays Here’s how it works:

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next, and/or what are you eagerly awaiting?

***

Currently Reading:  Not Her Daughter (e-book), by Rea Frey, a NetGalley review ARC of a book that will be released on August 21; an emotional ride where the line between right and wrong begins to fade…pulls you in from the very first page, and unlike most in its genre, you won’t know how you want it to end until it does.Wendy Walker, author of Emma in the Night

 

***

BOOKS FINISHED SINCE LAST WEEK (Click Titles/Covers for My Reviews):

The Date (e-book), by Louise Jensen

Feared (e-book, A Rosato & DiNunzio Novel), by Lisa Scottoline (NG-8/14)

Growing up Fisher, by Joely Fisher

Clock Dance (e-book), by Anne Tyler

***

EAGERLY ANTICIPATING:

Today I finally got a book in my mailbox that I’ve been awaiting for weeks.  Watching You, by Lisa Jewell, is a suspenseful page-turner about a shocking murder in a picturesque and well-to-do English town, perfect “for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train, and Luckiest Girl Alive” (Library Journal).

 

Synopsis:  Melville Heights is one of the nicest neighborhoods in Bristol, England; home to doctors and lawyers and old-money academics. It’s not the sort of place where people are brutally murdered in their own kitchens. But it is the sort of place where everyone has a secret. And everyone is watching you.

As the headmaster credited with turning around the local school, Tom Fitzwilliam is beloved by one and all—including Joey Mullen, his new neighbor, who quickly develops an intense infatuation with this thoroughly charming yet unavailable man. Joey thinks her crush is a secret, but Tom’s teenaged son Freddie—a prodigy with aspirations of becoming a spy for MI5—excels in observing people and has witnessed Joey behaving strangely around his father.

One of Tom’s students, Jenna Tripp, also lives on the same street, and she’s not convinced her teacher is as squeaky clean as he seems. For one thing, he has taken a particular liking to her best friend and fellow classmate, and Jenna’s mother—whose mental health has admittedly been deteriorating in recent years—is convinced that Mr. Fitzwilliam is stalking her.

Meanwhile, twenty years earlier, a schoolgirl writes in her diary, charting her doomed obsession with a handsome young English teacher named Mr. Fitzwilliam…

***

That was my week.  What did you enjoy?  What is coming soon?

***

Advertisements

27 thoughts on “HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: LOVELY BOOKS…

  1. Of course I didn’t see this before I asked you about this book. For some reason I totally missed seeing reading or hearing anything about this one. But her books confuse me sometimes because every once in a while they have different titles! Enjoy it…but I know you will.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Patty, her books do have different titles sometimes…and they also take forever to get! I pre-ordered this one months ago.

      Her books are some that I can’t get at any of the usual outlets…but they are worth the wait.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.