TUESDAY POTPOURRI: TIME FOR BOOK RELEASES!

It is TIME to check out the new book releases that come on Tuesdays.

Today I downloaded two new ones…and maybe there will be more.

 

Look for Me (e-book, D.D. Warren), by Lisa Gardner:  In #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Gardner’s latest twisty thrill ride, Detective D. D. Warren and Find Her‘s Flora Dane return in a race against the clock to either save a young girl’s life…or bring her to justice.

 

And then…

By the Book (e-book), by Julia Sonneborn

An English professor struggling for tenure discovers that her ex-fiancé has just become the president of her college—and her new boss—in this whip-smart modern retelling of Jane Austen’s classic Persuasion.

 

***

Until I can begin these newer books, I am reading The Wife, by Alafair Burke.  Loving it!

His Scandal
Her Secret

From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10—in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.

***

Early Monday, I started reading Fates & Furies, by Lauren Groff…and I had really wanted to read it, too….sigh.  But I abandoned it at 40%.  Why?  I’m not quite sure.  It is, after all, a prize-winning book with more than 1800 reviews.  But they weren’t all rave reviews.  They range from 5 star to 1 star…with 35% on the high range.    Some said “pretentious” while another one entitled her review “tedious.”  I found my thoughts leaning toward the tedious side….but I may pick it up again later, if I’m in the mood.  Meanwhile, I realized that I didn’t care about any of the characters…caring about them is key to my enjoyment.

 

***

The lesson here is that we all have our favorite styles and genres…and even books that get a lot of buzz might not be our cup of tea.  I need to pay more attention to those instincts about what I will love.

How do you pick your books?  Does the buzz compel you, or do you stick to what you know and love? What draws you out of your comfort zone?

***

12 thoughts on “TUESDAY POTPOURRI: TIME FOR BOOK RELEASES!

    • Thanks, Diane, I do hate abandoning books, especially those that others have loved…and which I expected to love. But I also don’t want to give my time to books that aren’t working for me. It’s definitely one of our tasks as readers…sticking with the books that work for us.

      Like

  1. By the Book intrigues me. I like to check out modern retellings of Jane Austen’s work. I don’t care about buzzed books. One thing that frustrates me with the Goodread voting on the best books of the year for genres is that they’re mostly all new books. I like to read what I’m in the mood for. I don’t care if it wasn’t published recently.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.