Posted in Tuesday Potpourri

TUESDAY POTPOURRI: “KEEP HER SAFE”

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by The Purple Booker.

Today’s feature is an e-book from the brilliant thriller writer Sophie Hannah:  Keep Her Safe…

LIANE MORIARTY says that “No one writes twisted, suspenseful novels quite like Sophie Hannah.” Packed with twists and clues, simmering with tension, this electrifying new thriller shows why.

 

 

Intro:  (Prologue)

For the longest time, I thought my sister, Emory, was the lucky one.  Sometimes I still feel that way.  She died before they could kill her.  No life at all is better than a life spent waiting to die.

The hardest thing is when the Kind Smiles promise I’ll survive—not just another day or week, but until I’m an adult, maybe even until I’m old.  If that’s true…but it can’t already be true if it hasn’t happened yet.  If it does in the future, I’ll have to stop envying the sister I never met and start feeling guilty because I made it and she didn’t.

***

(I inadvertently purchased this book in a paperback version (a month ago), with a different title:  Did You See Melody?  I was frustrated to learn this, of course, but I’m trying to enjoy the book).

***

Teaser:  I guessed right:  he’s willing to stay and talk if I don’t talk about Melody or our situation.  That means more time with the gun pointed at my head, but it’s worth it.  Anything’s better than the ropes digging into my wrists and ankles, cutting off my circulation. (61%).

***

Synopsis: She’s the most famous murder victim in America. What if she’s not dead?

Pushed to the breaking point, Cara Burrows flees her home and family and escapes to a five-star spa resort she can’t afford. Late at night, exhausted and desperate, she lets herself into her hotel room and is shocked to find it already occupied — by a man and a teenage girl.

A simple mistake at the front desk… but soon Cara realizes that the girl she saw alive and well in the hotel room is someone she can’t possibly have seen: the most famous murder victim in the country, Melody Chapa, whose parents are serving natural life sentences for her murder.

Cara doesn’t know what to trust — everything she’s read and heard about the case, or the evidence of her own eyes. Did she really see Melody? And is she prepared to ask herself that question and answer it honestly if it means risking her own life?

***

What do you think?  Would you keep reading?

***

Author:

Retired social worker * Mother * Grandmother * Writer *Obsessive blogger * Book Reviewer * Loves movies & collecting things * *To find out more about my books and blogs, check my website, Laurel-Rain Snow's Creations...

29 thoughts on “TUESDAY POTPOURRI: “KEEP HER SAFE”

    1. Thanks, Cleo, I should know better, as this happens a lot with Sophie Hannah’s books (and also with Lisa Jewell’s!) I’m always confused about whether or not I’ve read one (or have one) when the title is different.

      I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. And I recently bought a book and found out the author had republished it with a different title. Not cool as I thought I was getting something new but had already read it. The blurb was different too so I didn’t catch it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As I read the opening paragraph I though it was familiar – I read it under the title of Did You See Melody. So annoying when they publish a book with different titles. It’s happened to me before too – disappointing when you think you’ve found another book by an author you like and you haven’t!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, yes, I was so frustrated to realize the duplication….as I have a print copy of Did You See Melody. Unfortunately, this happens more than I like, especially with this author…and another one, Lisa Jewell.

      Warning labels needed!

      Thanks for stopping by, Margaret. Did you enjoy the book?

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

