Tuesday Potpourri

TUESDAY POTPOURRI: BOOKS, NETFLIX, ETC.

My coffee table stack of books is dwindling.  Even as I read more of my books purchased from Pippa, my Kindle, I am also focused on some of these hardcover books.

Reading more than one book at a time has helped…and it works for me if the genres are different, or even just the formats.

I Found You, by Lisa Jewell, is a book I’ve had since August 2016, so it would count on my current Read the Books You Buy Challenge.

Even though the book has just been released (today) on Amazon, I picked it up months ago.  I don’t know where, since it wasn’t from Amazon.  One of life’s mysteries.

I am reading an e-book from the author, Maria Murnane, received in February 2017:  Wait for the Rain.

 

***

Another new book, downloaded today, will be one of my soon-to-read books:  The Red Hunter, by Lisa Unger.

 

 

Claudia Bishop’s perfect life fell apart when the aftermath of a brutal assault left her with a crumbling marriage, a newborn daughter, and a constant sense of anxiety about the world around her. Now, looking for a fresh start with a home restoration project and growing blog, Claudia takes on a crumbling old house—one that unbeknownst to her has an ugly history and may hide long buried secrets.

For Zoey Drake the defining moment of her childhood was the horrific home invasion murder of her parents. Years later, she has embraced the rage that fuels her. Training in the martial arts has made her strong and ready to face the demons from the past—and within.

Strangers to each other, and walking very different paths in the wake of trauma, these two women are on a collision course—because Zoey’s past nightmare and Claudia’s dreams for her future take place in the very same house. As Zoey seeks justice, and Claudia seeks peace, both will confront the monsters at the door that are the most frightening of all.

***

On Sunday, I mentioned my need to clear the patio of dead leaves, etc.  Even though I wanted to put it off, I went out and did it.

There are still some new leaves that have fallen since then, but I don’t mind those as much as the ones the gardeners blow in with their equipment!

 

***

So…yesterday I stayed home all day, even though I wanted to go to the post office to check the mail, pick up some groceries, etc.

But today I’m all ready to go!  Shower done, hair fluffed, and feeling energized.

Last night, I enjoyed Better Call Saul, but I wish they would get rid of that annoying Chuck!  He is so mean to “Jimmy,” who will become Saul.  It can’t happen soon enough for me!

Do any of you watch that show?  After Breaking Bad, I was intrigued by these characters and their life before that show.

I’ve added a new show on Netflix:  Girl Boss.  I haven’t watched it yet.

***

With all the Netflix, Amazon Prime, and other shows on TV, it’s amazing that I read at all!  What vies for your attention?

***

8 thoughts on “TUESDAY POTPOURRI: BOOKS, NETFLIX, ETC.”

  1. Oh, chores and making my husband’s lunch entree for the week. The Red Hunter sounds good; I like it when characters’ paths join and when women are underdogs but come out fighting and on top.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am going to love The Red Hunter…I’m pretty sure.

      Already I’m loving I Found You. I will read it at home, and take my e-book out…also read the e-book at night.

      Thanks for stopping by, Stefanie.

      Like

    1. Thanks for visiting, Yvonne, and I wish that Season 3 was on Netflix so I could watch more than one episode. I watched the first season there, and now they have Season 2.

      I am very anxious about what will happen to “Jimmy,” but I guess he will do all right, since he is successful in Breaking Bad.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

