WEEKEND POTPOURRI: AFTER “THE FAST”….

My Saturday morning began very early.  I had “fasting blood work” to complete at the hospital lab nearby…and I like to get it done early (since I’d been fasting since 6 p.m. the night before!).

Afterwards, I went to pick up meds down the hall, and then over to Marie Callender’s for one of their breakfasts.  I ordered the pancakes, eggs, and coffee…but while I was waiting, they brought this coffee cake with a cup of coffee:

 

***

Naturally, the plate of eggs and pancakes was huge…and I didn’t photograph it.   It is embarrassing!  LOL.

Home again, I brewed my own pot of coffee, turned on the computer, and started going through my usual weekend routines.  At the top of this post, note the coffee mug I’m drinking from now…one of a set I’ve had for a while.  I always forget to use it, but I love the Parisienne cafe portrayed on the mug.  Here is a better view of the mug.

 

***

The matching large platter hangs out on the bottom shelf of my Baker’s Rack…next to a bear clutching a wine bottle.  The caption:  Wine is my Favorite Four-Letter Word.

 

***

I’m loving The Widow’s House (e-book), by Carol Goodman.

 

When Jess and Clare Martin move from Williamsburg, Brooklyn, to their former college town in the Hudson River valley, they are hoping for rejuvenation—of their marriage, their savings, and Jess’s writing career.

They take a caretaker’s job at Riven House, a crumbling estate and the home of their old college writing professor. While Clare once had dreams of being a writer, those plans fell by the wayside when Jess made a big, splashy literary debut in their twenties. It’s been years, now, since his first novel. The advance has long been spent. Clare’s hope is that the pastoral beauty and nostalgia of the Hudson Valley will offer some inspiration.

But their new life isn’t all quaint town libraries and fragrant apple orchards. There is a haunting pall that hangs over Riven House like a funeral veil. Something is just not right. Soon, Clare begins to hear babies crying at night, see strange figures in fog at the edge of their property. Diving into the history of the area, she realizes that Riven House has a dark and anguished past. And whatever this thing is—this menacing force that destroys the inhabitants of the estate—it seems to be after Clare next…

***

Creepy good, right?  I can’t wait to settle into it more.  Curled up on my comfy couch.  Maybe this one, in my office, which never gets much use.

 

***

What lies ahead in your weekend?  Cozy moments?  Adventure?

***

11 thoughts on “WEEKEND POTPOURRI: AFTER “THE FAST”….

  1. Pingback: WEEKLY UPDATES: THE WEEK SLID BY…. | RAINY DAYS AND MONDAYS

    1. Thanks, Stefanie, I love eating breakfast out, and seldom do it because I’m at the computer, waking up slowly with coffee…etc. Lab mornings are my time for a treat, since a 12 hr. fast is challenging!

      Like

  2. RedheadedBooklover

    This is so random of me to comment but I have to tell you that I just came across your blog and that I love it! Honestly, you have a lovely website here and I am so happy I have discovered it! I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your posts. Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha! I would have done the same, except I have a pill I have to take 1/2 an hour before I eat, so I took it while driving to Marie Callender’s…LOL.

      Thanks for stopping by, Dagny. Isn’t it annoying that we have to go through so many logistics for blood work and the aftermath?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Patty

    In spite of blood work you started out nicely! We are just relaxing and staying in…it will be in the 80’s here tomorrow so hopefully we can sit out on the deck and read!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Patty, and sitting on the deck and reading sounds wonderful. It’s nice here, too, and since I was out for blood work and breakfast, I’ve been in for the rest of the day, watching movies, reading, etc.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

