FRIDAY POTPOURRI: PONDERINGS…

picmonkey-image-revised-march

Welcome to another Friday Potpourri…and my obsessions, tidbits, etc.  The above header is the newest one I have created for my website.

I like spotlighting “real” aspects of my writing life, like my creations in the top right, and the laptop in the center.  On the bottom right, check out my Wizard of Oz figurines, which I’ve had for a few years. (From the Jim Shore collection).  They are symbolic of “my journey.”

Now grab a view of the collection (plus other trinkets) on my Baker’s Rack.

 

 

bakers-rack-in-march-framed

***

Yesterday I slept until 8 a.m., and today, for some unknown reason, I woke up at 5 a.m., unable to go back to sleep.  So I got up, rebooted all of my TV receivers which had been losing their signals way too often…then booted up my laptop. 

Once the important stuff was done, I turned on the coffee pot, prepared my breakfast tray…and then changed the scan settings on my laptop.  I do a scheduled virus scan on Mondays and Fridays, from 10 a.m. until finished.  Today I’m going to lunch with a friend at 11:30…and don’t want to leave the computer on while I’m gone.

Usually I try to avoid scheduling anything for Mondays or Fridays…but that chains me to my computer.  So I decided to alter the schedule a bit.

Loving this book.  Almost Missed You is a story about relationships, but there is a lot of mystery…some of the characters are keeping big secrets.  As the story takes us back and forth in time, we gradually learn more about them.  Now I can’t wait to see who will learn which secrets…and what they will do about them.

 

 

almost-missed-you

***

The premise reminded me of events that have happened in my own life, and I wondered “what if?”  What if I hadn’t gone to that party on June 9, 1970?  I was reluctant to go, for a variety of reasons.  But if I hadn’t, I would never have met the man I would marry later that year.  The man with whom I would have my two youngest children.

So…even though our marriage ended almost ten years later, does that mean we were not “destined to be”?  Or does it simply mean that we almost missed each other, and our lives might have taken different turns?  I prefer to cherish the children and grandchildren that came from that union…and the good years we did have, and believe that we were “meant to be” for a while.

Does the end of a marriage (or relationship) mean that it failed?  Or that it just ran its course, with cherished moments to ponder afterwards.  Lessons to learn.

***

So many thoughts on an early Friday morning.  My next book will probably be It Happens All the Time, by Amy Hatvany.

 

 

it-happens-all-the-time

***

Blurb:  I want to rewind the clock, take back the night when the world shattered. I want to erase everything that went wrong.

Amber Bryant and Tyler Hicks have been best friends since they were teenagers—trusting and depending on each other through some of the darkest periods of their young lives. And while Amber has always felt that their relationship is strictly platonic, Tyler has long harbored the secret desire that they might one day become more than friends.

Returning home for the summer after her college graduation, Amber begins spending more time with Tyler than she has in years. Despite the fact that Amber is engaged to her college sweetheart, a flirtation begins to grow between them. One night, fueled by alcohol and concerns about whether she’s getting married too young, Amber kisses Tyler.

What happens next will change them forever.

In alternating points of view, It Happens All the Time examines the complexity of sexual dynamics between men and women and offers an incisive exploration of gender roles, expectations, and the ever-timely issue of consent.

***

Both of these books will be released on March 28, 2017…and I got them from NetGalley.

Are you drawn to books that make you wonder about the choices in your life?  Do they stay with you long after you turn the last page?

What are you pondering on this Friday?

***

6 thoughts on “FRIDAY POTPOURRI: PONDERINGS…

  1. I don’t think I am drawn to those kinds of books. I like creativity and learning something new. I have high standards for historical romances and even higher ones for modern day ones. A bit for fantasy but I like how fantasy is no holds bar. Ooh, what’d you eat at lunch today? I’m always interested in food. Tonight’s dinner is nothing special; the nine year old picked out TJ shrimp gyoza and pork potstickers due to me forgetting to take out meat from the freezer again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Stefanie, and I ended up having my usual martini…and clam chowder, with these awesome biscuits.

      Your dinner sounds yummy!

      I finished Almost Missed You…and thoroughly enjoyed it. Now I must decide if I’ll start reading It Happens All the Time…or one of my thrillers. Enjoy your weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Diane D

    I always get so many new book recommendations from you Laurel, I think our taste in books is similar. Right now I have have so many books I want to read but find myself wasting time playing Yahtzee and Scrabble obsessively on my phone…..sigh

    Have a lovely Sunday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Diane, I’m glad you enjoy the recommendations…and I have other time-wasting activities, like endlessly following conversation threads on Facebook.

      I love Scrabble, but have never played it on my phone. Thanks for stopping by, and have a great week!

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

