Hump Day Potpourri

HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: PUDDLES, HAIR MAGIC, & POSTPONED JURY DUTY….

margaret-in-the-rain-framed

What a fabulous way to spend a rainy day!  My great-niece Margaret is at an age when puddles and boots are fun things.  Exploring, enjoying, and experiencing everything life has to offer.

On this Hump Day, we can all learn a thing or two about how to have more fun.

Today is not a rainy one here…at least not yet.  Prediction for today:  fair, with a high of 56.  Not bad.

A couple of weeks ago, I got a jury summons for this week…and it was one of those “call every night” things…until I called last night and they wanted me to appear today.  Well, I have too many things going on…so I waited through the menu until I got to the one where a postponement could be requested.  I’ve never done that…but why not?  So I postponed it until the first week in August.  If I can plan ahead a little, I can make sure that nothing important is on the schedule for that week.

Today I have my massage and hair styling appointment…

 

heather's bear

Tomorrow I have to go sign the tax forms so the accountant can file…

There was no way I wanted to miss these events!

***

Yesterday was not a rainy day…there were no winds…so why did my skylight cover fall down again?  Luckily, since it wasn’t the weekend, the maintenance staff came and fixed it right away.  He said the previous cover had been too small, so he cut this one larger.  A tight fit, now, which makes me feel more secure.

I have been here almost ten years, and for the first times ever, the skylight cover fell down twice in as many months!  The good news:  great maintenance staff.  So as long as nothing happens on a weekend….

***

Reading:  Yes, I am enjoying my reading week so far.

CURRENTLY READING:

I don’t often read more than one book at a time, but this week found me book hopping.

The Best Awful, by Carrie Fisher, the sequel to the bestselling Postcards from the Edge contains Carrie’s Fisher’s trademark intelligence and wit that brought Postcards to the Hollywood movie screen.

 

***

Rainy Day Women (e-book), by Kay Kendall, is the second book in the Austin Starr Mystery series. In 1969, during the week of the Manson murders and Woodstock, the intrepid amateur sleuth, infant in tow, flies across the continent to support a friend suspected of murdering women’s liberation activists in Seattle and Vancouver.

 

***

I’ll be bringing Pippa to the styling salon…so I’ll be reading Rainy Day Women there.

What does your Hump Day look like?  Plans for the rest of the week?

***

6 thoughts on “HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: PUDDLES, HAIR MAGIC, & POSTPONED JURY DUTY….”

  1. Your great niece is darling. What fun she had stomping in the puddles. Ick, jury duty. I always did it in the city though. Never cried childcare until my last summons before we moved. Here in the east bay there are three court houses one would go to, one being our town. I am able to check the box about childcare. Today I ran to Costo again to get household goods since the cart was full of food yesterday. I came home for a bit to eat and drink tea before picking up the girls who have early dismissal on hump day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Stefanie…I think she is adorable, too. I remember loving stomping in puddles with my rain boots when I was little.

      So many things were scheduled for this week, and I didn’t mind being on call, but when they wanted me to appear…well, the downtown of the city involves freeways, underground garages, and a walk to the courthouse.

      Maybe I’ll feel like doing that in the summer.

      You have a busy day planned…errands take up a lot of time, don’t they? Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

    1. I’ve periodically gotten the summons for a week; it seems like I get one every year or two, usually more often than I care for…and so far, I’ve only had to call in to see if they needed me the next day. That process goes on for a week.

      Once I actually had to serve on a jury for 3 weeks, back in 1980, and it couldn’t have been worse timing. I was stressed out about work the whole time.

      Thanks for stopping by, Kathryn, and the postponement allows me to try to plan my time during that period, but we all know that things come up that are out of our control.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

