HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: BINGEING ON COFFEE & BOOKS….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I finish my third cup of coffee, I am almost ready to begin the day.  But seriously, I have been blog visiting already…and avoiding those Internet sites with headlines that make me furious.  I won’t say which ones.

Yesterday I stayed home all day, as I was still exhausted from Monday, when I stood in line at the Passport Place…and finally finished up that process, only to realize that I had to make a couple more stops before I was finished for the day.

Errands are my least favorite thing, but at least they are easier nowadays.  When I was still working full time, I had to sandwich everything in between working, family time, etc.

Monday was a good day for mail, though.  I got the two books I had ordered:

The Girl:  A Life in the Shadow of Roman Polanski, by Samantha Geimer.

 

 

the-girl

***

In this memoir that “might be the most important and valuable book of the century so far” (The Guardian), Samantha Geimer reveals for the first time her side of one of the most notorious and complex legal cases in American history.

March 1977, Southern California. Roman Polanski drives a rented Mercedes along Mulholland Drive to Jack Nicholson’s house. Sitting next to him is an aspiring model named Samantha Geimer. She is thirteen years old.

The undisputed facts of what happened in the hours that followed appear in the court record: Roman and Samantha spent hours taking pictures—on a kitchen counter, topless in a Jacuzzi. Wine and Quaaludes were consumed, balance and innocence were lost, and a young girl’s life was altered forever—eternally cast as a background player in her own story.

***

Z:  A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald, by Therese Anne Fowler.

THE INSPIRATION FOR THE TELEVISION DRAMA Z: THE BEGINNING OF EVERYTHING

I wish I could tell everyone who thinks we’re ruined, Look closer…and you’ll see something extraordinary, mystifying, something real and true. We have never been what we seemed.

 

 

a-novel-of-zelda-fitzgerald

***

I loved the Amazon Prime Video, which I binge-watched until I finished all ten episodes (at 1:00 a.m. on Saturday morning).

***

So…what to do for the rest of today?  Will I stay in, or go out?  The weather will be cloudy, but the temperatures are predicted to reach a high of 68 degrees.  So that sounds like good weather for getting out.  When I went out on Monday, it was windy.  Horribly windy.

I just started reading Behind Her Eyes, by Sarah Pinborough, so I may need to stay in for a while…or make sure Pippa is charged if we do go out. (Notice how I said “we”?  Pippa is my friend).

 

 

behind-her-eyes

A dark, electrifying page-turner with a corker of an ending.” —Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“An eerie thriller…Pinborough keeps us guessing about just who’s manipulating whom – until the ending reveals that we’ve been wholly complicit in this terrifying mind game.” —The New York Times Book Review

***

On my DVR, I still have last night’s episode of This Is Us, a show I love.  I finished half of it and then stopped, because midnight was approaching…and I was exhausted from doing nothing but reading all day.  LOL.

What does your day look like?

***

5 thoughts on “HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: BINGEING ON COFFEE & BOOKS….

  1. Pingback: HUMP DAY OBSESSIONS: FROM BLOG POSTS TO HEADERS… | SERENDIPITY

  2. I did my hour of library volunteering, logging in simple books of stories students had entered into a contest and had won. Then I ran to Target to get Elmer’s Glue for the 4th grader’s diorama and special candy treats for her two besties and kumu. I’m chillaxin’ for now, enjoying my David’s tea before I run off to a follow up appt. After that I have to pick up the dames from school and I’ll be taking them by Starbucks for a special drink treat and we need to grab a few of the coffee sleeves for J’s project.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

