THURSDAY POTPOURRI: ANOTHER LATE NIGHT….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yesterday was all about tending to me, beginning with that massage at my daughter’s salon.  It was great, and we will now have a regular treatment on the days of my hair styling.

Feeling “rejuvenated” at Rejuvenations, I had some dinner out…soup, wine, cornbread.

 

wed-night-dinner-framed***

 

I continued reading Always, by Sarah Jio, (a NetGalley review – 2/7/17), and later finished it at home. (Click title for my review).

 

 

512rqof8q5l

***

But it was late when I finished reading…and then I watched Too Close to Home from my DVR…and fell asleep on the couch!  It is pretty comfy, but not as cozy as my bed.  Did I undo that massage?  LOL.

 

jan-sleeping-sofa-framed

***

What next?   So far this week, I’ve read two review books and one from my own shelves (Kindle).  So I have selected one that has been hanging around since November…which means it is new enough to count for the Read the Books You Buy Challenge – 2017.

So far this year, I’ve read and reviewed FIVE books that qualify there.

So…onward.  Never Alone, by Elizabeth Haynes, is a psychological thriller that is a brilliantly suspenseful and shocking story in which nothing is at it seems, but everything is at stake.

 

 

never-alone

***

Sarah Carpenter lives in an isolated farmhouse in North Yorkshire and for the first time, after the death of her husband some years ago and her children, Louis and Kitty, leaving for university, she’s living alone. But she doesn’t consider herself lonely. She has two dogs, a wide network of friends and the support of her best friend, Sophie.

When an old acquaintance, Aiden Beck, needs somewhere to stay for a while, Sarah’s cottage seems ideal; and renewing her relationship with Aiden gives her a reason to smile again. It’s supposed to be temporary, but not everyone is comfortable with the arrangement: her children are wary of his motives, and Will Brewer, an old friend of her son’s, seems to have taken it upon himself to check up on Sarah at every opportunity. Even Sophie has grown remote and distant.

After Sophie disappears, it’s clear she hasn’t been entirely honest with anyone, including Will, who seems more concerned for Sarah’s safety than anyone else. As the weather closes in, events take a dramatic turn and Kitty too goes missing. Suddenly Sarah finds herself in terrible danger, unsure of who she can still trust.

But she isn’t facing this alone; she has Aiden, and Aiden offers the protection that Sarah needs. Doesn’t he?

***

I am eager to get into it!

***

It is Thursday already, and, of course, tomorrow will be a wasted day for me (televised Inauguration), so I may have to check out the movies playing.

20th Century Women is in limited release, and only has two showings at the neighborhood theater.  I need to get over there soon!  Annette Bening, Elle Fanning, Greta Gerwig, Billy Crudup…to name a few.

 

20thcenturywomen***

There is also La La Land…but I’m not sure about it.

***

So…that’s my Thursday…how are your week (and weekend) shaping up?  Books, movies at home, movies elsewhere?

I’m linking this post up to Saturday Snapshots, at West Metro Mommy Reads.

***

13 thoughts on “THURSDAY POTPOURRI: ANOTHER LATE NIGHT….

  1. I need to read that Elizabeth Haynes book. I have it on my Kindle and need to remember that it is there. I’ve loved other books by her. Take care and good to hear that you are treating yourself to massages. They can certainly help.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Kay, there is more to feeling good than just exercise, I am learning….and I also loved Elizabeth Haynes’ books. Never Alone is just the kind of book I enjoy….some mystery, some secrets, old friends who might not be trustworthy….

      I hope you enjoy it, too.

      Like

  2. Pingback: WEEKLY UPDATES: UNEXPECTED RAIN DAMAGE…. – RAINY DAYS AND MONDAYS

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

