THURSDAY POTPOURRI: COUNTDOWN TO YEAR’S END….

dec-28-dinner

Yesterday was a day off from reading and blogging.  My granddaughter was home from San Jose, where she has been attending school…and we had fun at Barnes & Noble. (In the photo below, I caught a stranger on my camera!);  and then we had dinner at Olive Garden, using one of my gift cards. (In the photo above, I was halfway finished with my food before remembering to capture the shot!).

 

barnes-and-noble-office

***

In these last days of the year, I have been sticking to review books…or the occasional older read that doesn’t count for the new upcoming challenge.  (Books Purchased Between July 2016 and December 31, 2017).

Before I went on my outing, I got one of those exciting e-mails from NetGalley, and now have a copy of It Happens All the Time, by Amy Hatvany.  Yay! (Release date – March 28, 2017).

 

 

517mgoiwsrl

***

I want to rewind the clock, take back the night when the world shattered. I want to erase everything that went wrong.

Amber Bryant and Tyler Hicks have been best friends since they were teenagers—trusting and depending on each other through some of the darkest periods of their young lives. And while Amber has always felt that their relationship is strictly platonic, Tyler has long harbored the secret desire that they might one day become more than friends.

Returning home for the summer after her college graduation, Amber begins spending more time with Tyler than she has in years. Despite the fact that Amber is engaged to her college sweetheart, a flirtation begins to grow between them. One night, fueled by alcohol and concerns about whether she’s getting married too young, Amber kisses Tyler.

What happens next will change them forever.

***

A nice change from thrillers, but the secrets and poor choices will rivet me to the pages.

***

So sad about Carrie Fisher and Debbie Reynolds, dying a day apart!  I had read one of Debbie’s books last month…and I’ve read several of Carrie’s books.

 

reading-now

***

I ordered Carrie’s newest book, The Princess Diarist:

 

 

princess-diarist

 

The Princess Diarist is Carrie Fisher’s intimate, hilarious and revealing recollection of what happened behind the scenes on one of the most famous film sets of all time, the first Star Wars movie.  Named a PEOPLE Magazine Best Book of Fall 2016.

***

The story will be bittersweet now.

***

This weekend, I hope to watch movies, eat popcorn, and sip a little Champagne when the ball drops on New Year’s Rockin’ Eve.  I do miss Dick Clark, who I met once when my son was an executive in his company.

What, if anything, are you planning for this weekend?

***

6 thoughts on “THURSDAY POTPOURRI: COUNTDOWN TO YEAR’S END….

    • Thanks, Kathryn, I loved having that special time with my granddaughter, and buying her a book is always something we enjoy. Now that she is attending school a few hours away, our time together is more precious.

      I like the sound of the Hatvany book, too….and I’m looking forward to Carrie Fisher’s book; a bittersweet reading experience it will be.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. It is very sad about Debbie Reynolds and Carrie Fisher. I’m sure their stories will be viewed in a new light. Great memories – that you met Dick Clark! I hope you have a Rockin’ New Years Eve!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for visiting, Pat, and yes, I think we will see them in a new light…a bittersweet one.

      I met Dick Clark backstage at an award show hosted by Dick Clark Productions. It was awesome!

      Tonight I’m watching the 20/20 special honoring Debbie and Carrie.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

