MONDAY POTPOURRI: OVERCOMING HOLIDAY RELUCTANCE…

amys-house-in-the-mountains

Welcome to a “snowy” Christmassy Monday!

This blog has a history of rain and snow themes.  Check out the URL.  The snowy cabin above belongs to my niece Amy, who lives with her husband and three kids in the mountains nearby.  Where it snows.

With Christmas coming soon, I had thoughts of not decorating.  I usually bring out the decorations the weekend after Thanksgiving…and I didn’t do that.  But does that mean I’m not going to share my Christmas decor?

No…today I decided that I would bring out a couple of things.  So I grabbed a bin and started.  But, unbeknownst to me, the spirit of Christmas enveloped me, even as I slowly brought the holiday to life.  While I didn’t go all out, I did just enough.  For me.  So I won’t have a giant chore to do afterwards, putting everything back.

The dining room nook features one of my miniature trees that has the framed photos of the grandchildren.  And take a peek at the gingerbread bear on the middle cupboard.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA***

Now check out the long view, with another tree on the dining room table by the window.   This one has Coca Cola ornaments, in addition to Elvis and Betty Boop, and other 1950s mementos.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

The table between the two sofas showcases the little “fake” Poinsettia.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

In this view of the dining room table, catch a glimpse of the Candy Cane bear on the other cupboard.

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA***

Warm the hearth with Christmas Nutcrackers.

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

The wreath brings the holiday to my decorative metal wall hanging.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

Let’s all get into the spirit…even those of us, like me, who started out somewhat reluctantly.  What do you like to do to bring your home into the season?

***

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

