TUESDAY POTPOURRI: “THE MURDER GAME”

Books & fairytales - TUESDAY EXCERPTS

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by Books & a Beat.

Today I’m sharing excerpts from a book written by a favorite author, Catherine McKenzie:  the book, The Murder Game, she wrote as “Julie Apple,” the character in her novel Fractured.

 

 

29619695

 

Intro:  (Prologue, March, 2008)

It was Laura who called to tell me the news.

“Meredith?”  Her voice echoed down the bad connection, repeating itself like a rock skipping across the water.  “It’s about Julian…”

I gripped the phone tightly as his name echoed through the receiver.  Julian.  Julian.  Julian.

“Have you seen Lily?”  I said through the lump in my throat.

“N0.  She’s not seeing anyone.  Not even Jonathan.”

My heart constricted again as this second name bounced across the world to me.

***

Teaser:  Headline News (June 11, 2007)

I woke shivering from the cold night air that had seeped in through the open window.  Chris lay next to me, snoring softly with the covers tucked up under his chin.  I looked at the clock.  It was a quarter to seven. (1%).

***

Synopsis:  For fans of The Secret History and How to Get Away With Murder comes an exciting new voice in suspense fiction.

Ten years working as a prosecutor have left Meredith Delay jaded and unsure of what she wants out of life. She’s good at her job, but it haunts her. Her boyfriend wants her to commit, but she keeps him at arm’s length. Then Meredith is assigned to a high-profile prosecution involving the violent murder of a fallen hockey star. At first, it appears to be just another case to work. But when her old friend Julian is accused of the murder, it takes on a whole new dimension.

Meredith, Julian, Jonathan, and Lily were a tight-knit group in law school. But now, Jonathan’s defending Julian, and Lily’s loyalties aren’t clear. And when Julian invokes a rare—and risky—defense, Meredith is forced to confront their past.

Has something they played at as students finally been brought to death?

***

What do you think?  Does this one tempt you?  Would you keep reading?

***

39 thoughts on “TUESDAY POTPOURRI: “THE MURDER GAME”

  1. I can’t wait to read this one, especially having recently read Fractured. It’s a neat idea, writing a mystery novel by one of your characters. 🙂 Thanks for sharing, Laurel-Rain. I hope you enjoy this one!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry I’m a little late responding but this has been a stressful week with testing and doctor appointments.

    I would definitely like to read this book, the intro leaves me curious.

    I hope you and your family have a special Thanksgiving.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

