FRIDAY POTPOURRI: BOOK HOPPING, ETC.

picmonkey-image-another-newest-one

 

It’s almost the weekend!  How did the days fly by so fast?  Earlier today, instead of reading or even cleaning house (ugh!), I made some new blog headers, including this one (above).

My reading has been start and stop, but I have finished two books so far this week, and I did get through half of another one.  I’ve been hopping from book to book.  And now I’ve started Hillbilly Elegy, which promises to be captivating.

 

 

29890212

 

From a former marine and Yale Law School graduate, a powerful account of growing up in a poor Rust Belt town that offers a broader, probing look at the struggles of America’s white working class.

***

Since I was restlessly reading, blogging, etc., I hopped on over to Amazon Vine, as I haven’t requested anything there in a while…and I found this one:

Little Deaths, by Emma Flint, is crime fiction that explores the capacity for good and evil in us all.

 

 

51dk6sirhcl

***

It’s 1965 in a tight-knit working-class neighborhood in Queens, New York, and Ruth Malone–a single mother who works long hours as a cocktail waitress–wakes to discover her two small children, Frankie Jr. and Cindy, have gone missing. Later that day, Cindy’s body is found in a derelict lot a half mile from her home, strangled. Ten days later, Frankie Jr.’s decomposing body is found. Immediately, all fingers point to Ruth.

***

So…looking ahead, I still have quite a few books I have purchased over the past couple of years, but I’m whittling away at them.  In My TBR Stacks:  A Closer Look, I gave some numbers…and they weren’t as bad as I’d imagined.

And as for review ARCs, I have six NetGalley books, all to be released in January and February.  I am looking forward to the weeks ahead.

What are your reading plans for the next few weeks?

***

3 thoughts on “FRIDAY POTPOURRI: BOOK HOPPING, ETC.

  1. Pingback: AVOIDANCE & BLOG PLAYING….BOOK DISTRACTIONS? – CURL UP AND READ

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

