SUNDAY POTPOURRI: FALLING BACK….

time-changing

It has been a morning of changing back the clocks…and I have a lot of them.  But as you can see (above), one of the clocks is stalled at 12:00.  No matter what battery I put in, it doesn’t work.

Hmm, maybe I should remove all the batteries and set the clocks at various times.  The clocks could be purely decorative.

My computer and iPhone automatically reset their times….but I still have my bedside clock to change, my clock in the office, the microwave and coffeepot clocks…and this big red Coca Cola clock.

 

 

clock-etc

***

I’ve been visiting blogs this morning, and I’m getting ready to start reading again.  First, though, I made some changes at my Serendipity blog…a new header.  A big change, with my little grand-niece featured as a “reader.”

 

picmonkey-image-reading-treasures-nov

***

I am over halfway finished with American Heiress, the story of Patty Hearst’s kidnapping, by Jeffrey Toobin.

 

 

28007903

***

I remember what I was doing when I first heard about the kidnapping…I was in my office at work, and it was intriguing to hear the feedback from colleagues.  So many thought it was about money, but as we listened and read in the following weeks, we found out more.

In this book, I’m also discovering what I didn’t learn from the newspapers. 

***

On the lighter side, I’m also reading an e-book:  Stealing Jason Wilde, by Dee Ernst.

 

 

28580919

 

***

After her divorce, librarian Annie Reynolds thought she’d closed the book on love for good—it just wasn’t part of her safe, comfortable routine. But if there’s anyplace she can relax and have a little fun, it’s Dune Road, where she and her closest girlfriends return for their annual getaway in the Hamptons. She knows it’s just what she needs to escape her empty nest (and empty bed).

A chance encounter with a ruggedly handsome local promises Annie just that. But when one of her friends turns a simple flirtation with B-list movie star Jason Wilde into seduction—and Jason accidentally mixes a few drinks and his back-pain medicine—the ladies end up with a very high-profile houseguest. The media calls it a kidnapping, and before long, the FBI is on the hunt.

Soon the ladies’ tame little trip has turned into the adventure of a lifetime. But will this case of mistaken misdoing sabotage Annie’s second chance at love, or will she have the confidence to take matters into her own hands to find her happily ever after?

***

I took Pippa with me yesterday when I went for lunch….and got a good start on this one.

 

soup-and-martini-nov-5

***

Later today, I hope to watch some Netflix...I added Doctor Foster to my list.

What does your Sunday look like?

***

8 thoughts on “SUNDAY POTPOURRI: FALLING BACK….

  1. Thank you for stopping by. I’m really leaning toward more selfish knitting for myself. I need to get over that one-more-Christmas-sock-to-knit hump and then I’m home free! Your Sunday sounds lovely. Have a good one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh what a lot of clocks. Your changing them all reminded me of seeing a TV programme on all the clocks at Buckingham Palace and the job it was to look after them! The Patty Hurst book sounds really interesting, I do remember some from when it happened. Will look forward to your thoughts when finished.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Kathryn, and luckily (or not), two of the clocks over the mantle don’t work any longer, so that’s fewer clocks to set…lol.

      I think I like the idea of them being purely decorative. I found them all at a shop that was going out of business; a shop where I’ve purchased a lot of my quirky objects.

      I wouldn’t like to look after a lot of clocks every day. Twice a year resetting is enough.

      I am drawing near the end of American Heiress, and while I had a bare bones knowledge of what happened, from the news, etc., I feel like I’m getting a true insider’s view.

      Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

