HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: LAYERING MY LIFE….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here we are, enjoying a September morning, and I can’t help but look around and notice my old favorites, some of which, like the little cupboard above, I’ve had for a long time.  That “jelly cupboard” came from an old favorite shop called Granny’s Cobweb Closet, which went out of business, like a lot of old favorites, after the “crash.” 

Below, here it is in its first life in my interiors, when I was still living in my house in the foothills.  It was crammed with goodies, with lots of STUFF in it and around it.    The little cart you see in the photo above, to the left, is also visible in this picture (below).  I keep using the same old favorites, but nowadays, my layers are less “busy.”

 

 

beads-cupboards-etc

 

The shop where I found it was run by a woman who knew just what I loved to collect…so she had set this cupboard aside for me.  I really miss her and her shop!

***

My Mary Engelbreit cookie jars have been with me for a while, too, and so has the little tin receptacle, to the left, in which I collect favorite clippings, etc.  You can see it in the foothill house photo, hanging on the side of the cupboard. (If you can find it amongst all the other goodies!).

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

Cookies never have been inside these jars…they are purely decorative.  Because, sadly, I am too afraid that they’ll break if we use them.  I bought them at a little shop in a neighboring village here, where the artist Mary Engelbreit’s goodies were often on display.

***

The hat/handbag “tree” has been with me for a while, too, and today I’m showcasing some handbags that I have brought out of hiding, and also a new one, bottom left.  To the right, in the hallway, my movie collection.  To the left, some of the items in my Disney collections.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

 

Below, you can see that same rack on the stair landing of my former home, “wearing” a hat and a red boa, which also live on my hat/handbag tree these days (above).

 

 

2006-another-view-of-christmas-in-friant

***

I thought about all of my collections, many of which are stored in my garage…when I was reading blogs today, and someone mentioned reading the book by Marie Kondo,  The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up.

I’ve heard about this one, and have decided, based on the reactions of those who’ve read it, that it’s not for me.  Imagine this:  Sam, at Taking on a World of Words, says: “Unfortunately, I’m not a huge fan. Kondo seems to have no respect for someone who collects anything (even if it brings the person joy) and her minute details about properly folding socks so ‘that they can rest’ isn’t making me want to resort my sock drawer. “

***

I think that description alone eliminates me as a fan!  lol

***

What are your thoughts?  Do you collect things?  Even when you sort through and purge a few of your things, are you still someone who loves to be surrounded by things you enjoy?

Now I’m off to continue reading a book I’ve been loving so far…in between my Netflix bingeing of Longmire.

The Sister, by Louise Jensen.

 

 

29925715

 

A haunting story of best friends separated by death, and the dying girl’s words:  “I did something terrible Grace. I hope you can forgive me …”

So far, I don’t know what that something terrible is…but I’m about to find out.

***

Have a great Hump Day!  And for the weekend, this post is linked to West Metro Mommy Reads, for Saturday Snapshots.

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA***

16 thoughts on “HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: LAYERING MY LIFE….

  1. I think the section where Kondo talked about getting rid of books almost broke my heart! I’m almost done with the audiobook and I’m not at all a fan so I can’t wait to be done with this one. Enjoy your collections!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Sam, the idea of getting rid of books breaks my heart, too. I do occasionally purge and donate books when my shelves are overflowing…but not for the reasons that author would recommend, I’m sure. My books always give me joy, and they are my largest collections. Even after purging. Thanks for stopping by…and for hosting.

      Like

  2. My husband and I both collect books and have a hard time parting with them. I’m also a quilter, so I have stashes of fabric. Then there’s all that stuff related to writing – handouts from conferences, writing magazines, etc. If we ever downsize, I’ll have to make some tough decisions. Until then, however, I’m keeping it all!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Poem Fanatic, I love them! I’ve had them so long that I am not sure when I got them. I do have some books by the artist, showcasing many of her creations in her home, including those cookie jars.

      Thanks for visiting.

      Like

  3. Jackie

    I used to collect things but we downsized and now only have my box collection, masks and typically 1 souvenir when we visit somewhere. Oh yes, we started collecting beer glasses and mugs on our travels too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Some of the happiest people I know collect things. As you probably can guess, I collect books, but I also collect yarn for knitting and fabric for sewing and quilting. I have seen collecting get out of hand for people, but it’s not for me to say they must stop or that it’s something horrid. I’m glad you get pleasure from your collections. “Tidying up” means something different to people like you and me.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. readerbuzz

    My husband and I are slowly passing things on to others who can use what we have. My grandma boxed up things for each person in her family when she “broke up housekeeping” ten years before she passed away. I still love the biscuit pan and coffee mug she gave me. She and I both lived to make biscuits and drink coffee, so these fill me with happiness.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m not one for collections. I had some in the past, but they all got stolen so I don’t put stock in ‘things’ any more but I do appreciate those of others. As for the rest of things, I have learned that having them all where they belong was great when I was single, but others just don’t think the same!

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

