SUNDAY POTPOURRI: MOMENTS IN TIME

Coffee, Mimosa, & reading - logo2

The Sunday that has its place in the middle of a three-day weekend is a blissful one indeed.  So many lovely things to do and ponder, without worrying about how Monday is upon us.

But I never worry about Mondays anymore, anyway.  I started my blog Rainy Days and Mondays in 2009, to celebrate how I love Mondays now that I am “retired.”  I had been officially retired for four years when I did that, and had headed off to spend a week in Napa Wine Country.  I had expected a few friends to join me, but one by one, they cancelled.  I could have taken it personally, but then, I glanced at my bag of books…and luxuriated in my time there.  The photo below is from my journey on the Wine Train.

 

 

8-2009-wine train feast resized

 

One evening, I signed up for the boat ride around the area.  Delightful snacks and drinks were provided.

 

 

8-2009-napa boat ride resized

 

But…back to the blog.  I created it just before leaving, and those were the days before I had a laptop, so I visited the resort office every morning to use their laptop and check on my new creation.

First I set it up on Blogger, but then moved it to Word Press in 12/13, migrating only my reviews from the original site.  Slowly building up my followers again, I have finally passed the number I had there.

No matter how many years go by, I will always remember that feeling when I first created it…when I began luxuriating in the feeling of blissful Mondays.

***

This weekend, I’m enjoying my time, and yesterday I had lunch at one of my favorite neighborhood spots, California Pizza Kitchen.  However, I seldom have pizza there.  Yesterday, I had a strawberry margarita and pea soup.

 

Sept 3 lunch

***

Then I had this decadent dessert, Red Velvet Cake & Ice Cream, with Irish Coffee:

 

dessert on sept 3

***

I planned to sleep in late this morning, but my body had other plans.  I woke up at 3:00 a.m., read for a while, and then I must have fallen asleep, as when I glanced at the clock, it was 5:45 a.m.  Still too early, but I got up anyway.  I’m sure I’ll take a nap later.

I am reading a book I’ve had for a couple of weeks, but which I’m really loving:  It Ends with Us, by Colleen Hoover.

 

 

27362503

 

Our MC, Lily Bloom, captured my interest from the very first page.  Her first person voice grabbed me, as she talked about her father’s funeral and how she felt about him and his relationship with her mother.

Then there’s the man she meets on the roof of a neighboring building.  Why has Ryle so captured her interest, when they have such different dreams?

Then there are Lily’s Ellen Diaries, (like letters addressed to Ellen DeGeneres), which she intermittently share, and which take us back to her childhood and the events that defined her.

***

Yesterday I read and loved I’ve Got Sand in All the Wrong Places, by Lisa Scottoline/Francesca Serritella, (click for my review), a mother/daughter team that has brought a series of these vignettes that offer a peek into their lives.

 

 

29341309

***

So….now I am ready to go back to reading.  Then I’ll take a nap.  I’m pretty sure.  Or continue binge-watching Longmire on Netflix.

What does your weekend look like?

***

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA***

6 thoughts on “SUNDAY POTPOURRI: MOMENTS IN TIME

  1. I love that when your friends pulled out you still enjoyed Napa Valley and a bag of books. Great choice. Looking forward to your Colleen Hoover review. Most likely will wet my feet with the audio version eventually.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Kathryn, I love that I am at a point in my life when I can entertain myself…even at a resort. All I need is a bag of books….and when I attended some of the events offered through the resort, I struck up conversations with a few people. I even used some of these scenes in my book Interior Designs. LOL.

      I am loving the CH book so far….I’m only about 1/3 of the way through, however, as I did a lot of Netflix bingeing this weekend. Thanks for visiting…and enjoy your week.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Definitely! The plan was always for me to get there first, and the others would come in on subsequent days throughout the week. I always have a Plan B when I go anywhere, which includes books and whatever else to enjoy myself with various activities. I don’t like depending on others. LOL.

      Thanks for stopping by, Stefanie, and that week in Napa is still one of my favorite getaways. I even featured some of my experiences there in my sixth book, Interior Designs. In the book, however, my MC had a friend accompany her.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love how the older we get the less intimidated we are by doing things solo. Bravo my friend. I loved the pics you shared and, BTW California Pizza is a favorite lunch venue. The sad thing is that the closest one is 75 miles from us so it’s only a 1-2 times a year road trip.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, now I’m feeling very fortunate, Diane, with a mall right around the corner with some favorite venues. Sorry you don’t get to go often, but when you do, it’s a treat, I’m sure.

      Thanks for visiting and for the “bravo”… here’s to not feeling intimidated! When I was young, I could not have imagined doing so many things solo, as I always had to have a friend or two along. Now I even prefer going alone to the movies, for one thing, or to a restaurant, because I can read. On the wine train, I met a woman who is an attorney in Washington, D.C., and we had a nice chat…and are Facebook friends now.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

