SUNDAY POTPOURRI: REFLECTIONS ON MY SUMMER….

Coffee, Mimosa, & reading - logo2

Welcome to my first Sunday Potpourri in weeks!  Well, at least two or three, anyway.

A Sunday was one of the first days I wrote on this blog…one of my earliest posts was on a Sunday in July 2009.  A while ago, I recreated that post (partially), one that included my preteen granddaughter Fiona, in Celebrating Special Moments, Past and Present.

I recall those moments fondly, as my now “late teen” granddaughter is a complex person.  One who sometimes enjoys my company, and at other times, she ignores me completely.  Shouldn’t she have gone through this phase earlier?  Now that she is a young adult, she should be more agreeable.  Right?  I guess not.  LOL.

We did have a semi-enjoyable trip, mostly once we got there.  The car ride was not fun, all twisty, with continuous road work, which contributed greatly to our short tempers.

Stopping along the way for refreshments helped.  But Hwy. 101 has so many tiny towns, and finding great places to pull over was a challenge.

Once we arrived, however, there was plenty to keep us occupied…and lovely breezes, too.

 

 

August 2016 - pier in Crescent City

***

Next time I go there, however, I will go solo…and on the train!  I picture myself resting and reading.

 

 

 

Amtrak

 

***

Now that I’m back, I seem to be getting my Reading Mojo again.  Although I’m catching up on Netflix as well.  I resumed watching Doc Martin, which I’m starting to enjoy more, now that I’m (kind of) used to the MC and his quirks.

 

 

Doc Martin in Cornwall

 

***

Currently I’m reading The Excellent Lombards, by Jane Hamilton, and while I don’t usually enjoy a “child” narrator, this particular one is quite articulate, and I settled into her perspective, remembering my own younger years surrounded by fruit orchards.

 

 

 

28430378

 

Synopsis:  Mary Frances “Frankie” Lombard is fiercely in love with her family’s sprawling apple orchard and the tangled web of family members who inhabit it. Content to spend her days planning capers with her brother William, competing with her brainy cousin Amanda, and expertly tending the orchard with her father, Frankie desires nothing more than for the rhythm of life to continue undisturbed. But she cannot help being haunted by the historical fact that some family members end up staying on the farm and others must leave. Change is inevitable, and threats of urbanization, disinheritance, and college applications shake the foundation of Frankie’s roots. As Frankie is forced to shed her childhood fantasies and face the possibility of losing the idyllic future she had envisioned for her family, she must decide whether loving something means clinging tightly or letting go.

***

Next I hope to read Behind Closed Doors, by B. A. Paris.  I waited and waited for this one…and then it was released last week.  Loving the anticipation!

 

 

 

51JkXh+jrWL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_

***

Here are some thoughts from others: 

The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie?

The debut psychological thriller you can’t miss!

“A hair-raising debut, both unsettling and addictive…A chilling thriller that will keep you reading long into the night.” —Mary Kubica, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Good Girl

This is one readers won’t be able to put down.” —Booklist (starred review)

“This debut is guaranteed to haunt you…Warning: brace yourself.” —Bustle (10 New Thrillers to Read This Summer)

***

What does your Sunday look like?  Restful, busy, or a combination?

 

Here’s what I had yesterday, at California Pizza Kitchen:  Pea Soup and a Strawberry Margarita.

 

 

soup and margarita - august 20

***

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

